What to do with spare kit yeasts?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hostage_85

Reaction score
Hi Guys,

Just wondering what you all do with the Kit yeasts left over?

I've been brewing off and on for a few years, but lately fully gotten into it. Buying US-05 etc...
I mainly use Coopers Cans, and i've now got about 6 or 7 coopers packets of yeast just spare.

What do you guys do with them? Do you use them in other Brews?

Can be used for making pizza bases, just takes a little more proofing time than bakers yeast. Otherwise, if you're contemplating moving to AG in the future, they can be chucked in at the end of the boil as nutrient.

I havent got to doing AG yet... Althought its on the cards to get started soon.

But Pizza bases sound good haha :D

Cheers

Handy to have spares in the case of stuck ferments and if doiing a high ABV toucan brew where a second yeast may be needed.

If you are going to use beer yeast for pizza, make sure you go for thin bases and give yourself a lot more time. The Cooper's yeast is very slow for pizza dough and won't give you a very fluffy pizza. It works well enough for thin bases on a very hot (300C) stone if there's nothing else in the house, but normal bakers yeast is a better option.

I have been wondering about the same thing, I probably have 20 or so kicking around which some of them are probably too old to be any good. As for nutrient, any way to use these in ciders I wonder.

decr said:
probably too old to be any good
Don't bet on it I had four that were 5-6 years past expiry, made a lil starter from each and they took off within a few hours. Think I used them for little experiments and so on.

pcmfisher said:
Make some lactation cookies..................