What Are You Brewing III

Status
Not open for further replies.
BeerSmith Recipe Printout - http://www.beersmith.com
Recipe: Traditional Bock
Brewer:
Asst Brewer:
Style: Traditional Bock
TYPE: All Grain
Taste: (35.0)

Recipe Specifications
--------------------------
Batch Size: 23.00 L
Boil Size: 34.78 L
Estimated OG: 1.072 SG
Estimated Color: 16.0 SRM
Estimated IBU: 28.6 IBU
Brewhouse Efficiency: 70.00 %
Boil Time: 90 Minutes

------------
Amount Item Type % or IBU
3.52 kg Munich, Light (Joe White) (9.0 SRM) Grain 46.87 %
3.52 kg Pale Malt, Traditional Ale (Joe White) (3.Grain 46.87 %
0.41 kg Simpsons Med Crystal (80.0 SRM) Grain 5.45 %
0.06 kg Pale Choc (200.0 SRM) Grain 0.81 %
46.70 gm Hallertauer [4.80 %] (60 min) Hops 28.6 IBU
1 Pkgs Bavarian Lager (Wyeast Labs #2206) [StarteYeast-Lager

Mash Schedule: My Mash
Total Grain Weight: 7.52 kg
----------------------------
My Mash
Step Time Name Description Step Temp
10 min Dough in Add 30.07 L of water at 50.4 C 48.0 C
20 min Step Add 0.00 L of water at 55.0 C 55.0 C
30 min Step Add 0.00 L of water at 65.0 C 65.0 C
20 min Step Add 0.00 L of water at 70.0 C 70.0 C

Notes:
------

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tried my hand at my first Marzen in the lead up to Oktoberfest... Brewed on US05 in July at 16*C :p

1.5kg LDME
500 sugar
1.0kg Munich II
500g Caramunich II
250g Carafoam
250g Melanoidin
32g Northern Brewer 9.5%AA @ 60 [24 IBU]
15g Hallertau 4.0%AA @ 15 [2 IBU]
25g Tettnanger 4.0%AA @ 0 [0 IBU]
US05
26L total

Hopefully it will come out a nice easy quaffer for Oktoberfest but I'm thinking it might be a bit too dark for my non beer enthusiast mates... The next batch will be a Kolsch to take care of those scared of a bit of colour in their beer :D

edit: all grains were milled on my new Crank and Stein mill that I finally built a base and hopper for, gap set to 0.8mm :beerbang:

I brewed this on Sunday, Muggs Bitter

------------
Amount Item Type % or IBU
4.00 kg Pale Malt, Maris Otter (Thomas Fawcett) (5Grain 82.47 %
0.50 kg Munich, Light (Joe White) (17.7 EBC) Grain 10.31 %
0.20 kg Crystal (Joe White) (141.8 EBC) Grain 4.12 %
0.10 kg Crystal, Dark (Joe White) (216.7 EBC) Grain 2.06 %
0.05 kg Roasted Malt (Joe White) (1199.7 EBC) Grain 1.03 %
20.00 gm Warrior [15.10 %] (60 min) Hops 32.9 IBU
35.00 gm Styrian Goldings [4.60 %] (15 min) Hops 8.7 IBU
30.00 gm Styrian Goldings [4.60 %] (0 min) Hops -
0.50 items Whirlfloc Tablet (Boil 15.0 min) Misc

I am going to use Wyeast 1968 London ESB got a starter going now.

Did this last night:

Blonde Ale
23 litres
4500 bb galaxy
300 Wey vienna
800 cooked rice

mash at 66 for 90 mins

30 cascade @ 60mins
20 Saaz @ 20 mins
20 Saaz @ 1 mins

22 IBU's
US 05

Should be throwing down an english IPA...

92% Base
8% Medium Crystal

Target to bitter
Challanger for flavour and aroma.

1.055 OG
44 IBU

Does the OG:BU work out alright? Or do I need more bitterness?

Phil

Should be throwing down an english IPA...

92% Base
8% Medium Crystal

Target to bitter
Challanger for flavour and aroma.

1.055 OG
44 IBU

Does the OG:BU work out alright? Or do I need more bitterness?

Phil

Less crystal, more IBU.

Personally I'd drop the crystal down to no more than 5% as with that OG you will get plenty of malt character. Bump up the IBU to 48-50.

Just as an FYI, my best IPA was/is 98% MO, 2% pale choc, challenger to 50 IBU. OG 1.058.

Wow, sounds interesting fella. Put me down for a couple if I sneak a win in SC this arvo! :p ;) :lol:

i opened the cube yesterday to pitch onto some 1272 top crop. Hit with a biiig waft of honey in the face. a big woodsy homey aroma. I dont know what effect 5% cararye will have on this one but you can be assured it will have a definitive honey component to it.

Woohoo, im back B) after this site being randomly blocked on my pc for the past 6 months?? But oh well... Man, missed this place tho!!

Knocked this out last Monday

Amber IPA

3kg Global Pils
2.1kg Kolsch
360g Global Munich 360g Carapils
180g CaraRed
60g Chocolate - Added late

90 - 20g Columbus 14.2%
60 - 7g Simcoe 12.2%, 7g Columbus 14.2%
30 -7g Simcoe, 7g Columbus
15 20g Simcoe, 20g Columbus
10 - 20g Cascade 5.8%
1 - 14g Simcoe, 14g Columbus
Dry - 14g each of Simcoe, Columbus, Centennial, Amarillo and Cascade

US-05

And ive got this planned for the coming weekend...

5kg Golden Promise
500g Global Munich
420g Global CaraLight
310g Biscuit

75 - 10g Summit 15.8%
20 - 15g Summit 15.8%, 15g Amarillo 7.5%, 15g Cascade 5.8%
15 - 20g Summit 15.8%, 20g Amarillo 7.5%
5 - 15g Cascade 5.8%
Dry - 12g Summit, 18g Amarillo, 12g Cascade

US-05

Woohoo, im back B) after this site being randomly blocked on my pc for the past 6 months?? But oh well... Man, missed this place tho!!

Knocked this out last Monday

Amber IPA

3kg Global Pils
2.1kg Kolsch
360g Global Munich 360g Carapils
180g CaraRed
60g Chocolate - Added late

90 - 20g Columbus 14.2%
60 - 7g Simcoe 12.2%, 7g Columbus 14.2%
30 -7g Simcoe, 7g Columbus
15 20g Simcoe, 20g Columbus
10 - 20g Cascade 5.8%
1 - 14g Simcoe, 14g Columbus
Dry - 14g each of Simcoe, Columbus, Centennial, Amarillo and Cascade

US-05

And ive got this planned for the coming weekend...

5kg Golden Promise
500g Global Munich
420g Global CaraLight
310g Biscuit

75 - 10g Summit 15.8%
20 - 15g Summit 15.8%, 15g Amarillo 7.5%, 15g Cascade 5.8%
15 - 20g Summit 15.8%, 20g Amarillo 7.5%
5 - 15g Cascade 5.8%
Dry - 12g Summit, 18g Amarillo, 12g Cascade

US-05

Hey Reviled, welcome back! Thought you may have chucked it in or maybe you were building a 3V system.... r u still BIAB?
Man, you sure love your hops!

Hey Reviled, welcome back! Thought you may have chucked it in or maybe you were building a 3V system.... r u still BIAB?
Man, you sure love your hops!

Cheers buddy, would never chuck in this hobby, have still been posting regularly over here

Currently still BIAB, but if you can keep a secret, ill tell you that I recently acquired an 85litre kettle and a water pump B)

So the plan is, to convert my existing 30litre kettle into a mash tun, make an HLT out of a plastic bucket fermenter, and use the 85litre as my boiler... Still pondering whether to go electric or 4 ring gas burner tho, and im just getting the bits as they come up for cheap cos my budget is fairly minimal...

And yes, I do love my hops :icon_drool2: Specially the US varieties - I tried an IPA in the US with Summit and Nugget hops and it was like drinking hop resin, seriously awesome!

That first beer looks magic, reviled.

What are Summit hops like? Never used them (or come across anyone else using them). Can you think of any commercial beers that use them that I might know?

I reckon a few of us should hop over to that NZ forum regularly, seeing as we would be well fckd without New Zealand hops here, I reckon it would be a great site to drop into. Welcome back, I was also wondering what had happened.

Warra regularly heads over, the NZ home brew scene is rapidly growing with lots of interesting things happening! Just not as much foot traffic on our forum...

Bum - Summit hops are an extremely rare dwarf variety of hop, which apparantly grows really short and requires hand picking, I was lucky to get 250gms as my mate got a few kilos for a commercial contract brew which is currently being drunk around NZ and tasting awesome!! If you come over to NZ in the next few weeks you may be lucky enough to try this - http://www.ratebeer.com/beer/liberty-brewi...mmt-ipa/125285/ For me it starts out sweet but the bitterness accumulates on the palate, really weird but so awesome!!

Commercial wise - Green Flash IIPA, hopped with Summit and Nugget all the way through and by crikey is it hoppy, seriously I had never had anything as hoppy as this in my life, resin's, oils, cheek cutting bitterness!!! :icon_drool2:

Other than that, probably only American brewed craft beers would use it i'd say??

Recently had a big session in the States so I might have had one but who knows? Didn't get hold of a Green Flash IIPA, had a few of theirs but not that one, sadly.

Thanks for the info.

So, double brew day today!

Belgian Golden Strong

5.40 kg Pilsner (2 Row) Bel (2.0 SRM) Grain 65.0 %
2.08 kg Munich Malt (9.0 SRM) Grain 25.0 %
25.00 gm Northern Brewer [10.50%] (60 min) Hops 24.3 IBU
23.00 gm Saaz [3.60%] (15 min) Hops 3.8 IBU
0.83 kg Sugar, Table (Sucrose) (1.0 SRM) Sugar 10.0 %
1 Pkgs Trappist High Gravity (Wyeast Labs #3787) Yeast-Wheat

and

Another 10 min IPA, this time Pacific Gem

95% Base
5% Carapils

10 min addition of Pacific Gem to 60 IBU. (actually had to do a 12 min addition because I only had 90 grams of the organic pacific gem).

Pacman

So, double brew day today!

Belgian Golden Strong

5.40 kg Pilsner (2 Row) Bel (2.0 SRM) Grain 65.0 %
2.08 kg Munich Malt (9.0 SRM) Grain 25.0 %
25.00 gm Northern Brewer [10.50%] (60 min) Hops 24.3 IBU
23.00 gm Saaz [3.60%] (15 min) Hops 3.8 IBU
0.83 kg Sugar, Table (Sucrose) (1.0 SRM) Sugar 10.0 %
1 Pkgs Trappist High Gravity (Wyeast Labs #3787) Yeast-Wheat

and

Another 10 min IPA, this time Pacific Gem

95% Base
5% Carapils

10 min addition of Pacific Gem to 60 IBU. (actually had to do a 12 min addition because I only had 90 grams of the organic pacific gem).

Pacman

Neither look very english to me..... :huh: :lol:

Boiling right now:

2.8kg Ale Malt
0.2kg Wheat Malt
0.2kg Dextrose
0.15kg Melanoiden
20g PoR for 60min

S189 @ 12C

Oh yeah. Crisp and quenching.

Neither look very english to me..... :huh: :lol:

Probably a good thing I didn't brew anything engrish - I would have definitly gone for the top crop before you sms!

Still working out that recipe...wasn't going to brew 2 beers - but when the organic pacific gem arrived, it looked at me and said 'hey phillip, did you know that I am exactly the right amount for a 10 minute addition? Brew with me, brew with me' So yeah - if you hops say that - you pretty much have to do what they say.

Phil

lagers

6.5 kg J.W pils
750 gms J.W dark munich
500 gms J.W light munich
1.0 kg dex.

35 gms perle 8.3 AA 60" =17.0 ibu
35 gms hall/hers 3.5AA 60" =7.2ibu

42 litres split in half 1st 2042 danish lager, 2nd half 2308 munich lager.

Status
Not open for further replies.