What Are You Brewing - 2014

fletcher said:
how are you finding higher IBUs at 60 rather than later in the boil mate? would be keen to hear your results. my recent IPA was about 1/3 at 60 mins and the rest later in the boil. was apparently 80 IBU but didn't seem like it (for my tastes anyway). i prefer it bitter-er so will slowly increase IBU earlier in subsequent brews.
Hi Fletcher,

This will be the first IPA in a while that is going with a higher portion of the IBU from the 60min addition. The past 4-5 IPA's have all been along the 1/3 from 60m and then the rest from 20m to whirlpool/hopstand and I have found these to be smooth and very full of hop flavour, but they didnt have that good bittering charge. My last IPA was all Columbus/Centennial to 82ibu but it only taste's like 40-50ibu, most the ibu came from 20m to whirlpool/hopstand additions.

For this one I wanted to get that solid bitterness from the 60min addition to then work towards a good balance that I like for an IPA just like you mentioned, using Warrior will let me know its there :super: I will let you know how it turns out when its in the glass.

Pratty1 said:
Hi Fletcher,

This will be the first IPA in a while that is going with a higher portion of the IBU from the 60min addition. The past 4-5 IPA's have all been along the 1/3 from 60m and then the rest from 20m to whirlpool/hopstand and I have found these to be smooth and very full of hop flavour, but they didnt have that good bittering charge. My last IPA was all Columbus/Centennial to 82ibu but it only taste's like 40-50ibu, most the ibu came from 20m to whirlpool/hopstand additions.

For this one I wanted to get that solid bitterness from the 60min addition to then work towards a good balance that I like for an IPA just like you mentioned, using Warrior will let me know its there :super: I will let you know how it turns out when its in the glass.
yeah, i remember you asking me about my IPA before this one, which had a BIG hit of warrior early on. can't remember the IBU of it from memory, but it was too much - might have mellowed out eventually but i'm too impatient and drank it all. then this recent one (1/3 at 60) wasn't enough, so the middle (right about where you have it - 30-35ish) sounds about perfect for my tastes.

fletcher said:
yeah, i remember you asking me about my IPA before this one, which had a BIG hit of warrior early on. can't remember the IBU of it from memory, but it was too much - might have mellowed out eventually but i'm too impatient and drank it all. then this recent one (1/3 at 60) wasn't enough, so the middle (right about where you have it - 30-35ish) sounds about perfect for my tastes.
I just checked your website......it was the Hadden IPA back in Dec last year. You added 33g of warrior at 60m and no chilled .....your eff was low - as you put it Fckn Terrible...lol That would have lead to an unbalanced beer - 1.064 v's 1.047 - I think at target OG the 33g would still have been a little high = 49ibu from my calcs. ( the citra/centennial/cascade late combo would have saved it) I just hope that my LHBS has Warrior in stock B)

How do you calculate the no chill effect for contributiing IBU to the wort?

Pratty1 said:
I just checked your website......it was the Hadden IPA back in Dec last year. You added 33g of warrior at 60m and no chilled .....your eff was low - as you put it Fckn Terrible...lol That would have lead to an unbalanced beer - 1.064 v's 1.047 - I think at target OG the 33g would still have been a little high = 49ibu from my calcs. ( the citra/centennial/cascade late combo would have saved it) I just hope that my LHBS has Warrior in stock B)

How do you calculate the no chill effect for contributiing IBU to the wort?
that was it yeah. 50ish ibu seemed a bit rough but perhaps 40 might work. the calculations and efficiency and everything were all WELL off on that day. mashed too low so it fermented to a lower gravity, didn't reach my original gravity so it was way too bitter. ugh. glad to know i've sorted those problems out. even without warrior, columbus or something sexy like that would work a treat. even centennial.

i never used to worry about calculations for it when i first started then later i just added the default 15 mins on. all my earlier beers were higher but i never calculated it (or cared too much) as i was still learning the ropes. now i'll just add the 15 mins as most people do. i rarely no-chill now though.

For those playing at home it was:

10L juice from over-ripe fujis
5L juice from slightly under-ripe golden delicious
5L juice from perfect pink ladies.
1L juice from eight quinces.

4 teaspoons yeast nutrient.

S04 yeast. Ferment at 18 degrees.

Made 1056 OG.

I also do not recommend juicing quinces - almost blew up the juicer. They are very, very fibrous.

spryzie said:
Cider

2kg Quinces (for tartness).

Apples to make it up to 20L. I have a mixture of pink lady and fuji. Will do equal quantities.

S04 yeast.

Will knock it out tonight.

Amber-Red IPA

23L batch
OG 1.061
IBU 55

4kg pale
1kg munich
.4kg wheat
.23kg biscuit
.23kg caraaroma
.06kg chocolate
22g Columbus @ 60
28g Amarillo @ 10
28g Cascade @ 10
14g Citra @ 10
28g Amarillo @ 0
28g Cascade @ 0
14g Citra @ 0

Dry hop with 28g each of Cascade, Citra and Amarillo.

260g of hops in 23L should be hoppy enough.

Today it's ...dah dah dah... suspense building....wait for it...it'll be sooo worth it....almost there....a Pliny the Elder (Russian River Brewing) clone.

OK, so that's probably how long it feels since I offered to brew a IIPA for a mate at work. Sorry Alastair, if you're reading this.

Recipe is set out below:

Pliny the Elder clone

Brew Type: All Grain Date: 15/05/2014
Style: Imperial IPA Brewer: Seth
Batch Size: 27.00 L (2 litres kettle loss)
Boil Volume: 38.87 L Boil Time: 90 min
Brewhouse Efficiency: 75.0 %
Equipment: 50 litre Esky and 75 litre kettle
Ingredients
Amount Item Type % or IBU

7.06 kg Pale Malt, Ale (MEU) (3.9 EBC) Grain 83.6 %
0.50 kg Carafoam (Weyermann) (3.9 EBC) Grain 5.9 %
0.17 kg Crystal Malt - (assumed) 60L (TF) (118.2 EBC) Grain 2.0 %
64.00 gm Warrior [16.70%] (90 min) Hops 115.9 IBU
82.00 gm Chinook [11.40%] (90 min) Hops 101.4 IBU
40.00 gm Simcoe [12.30%] (45 min) Hops 47.8 IBU
32.00 gm Challenger [7.70%] (30 min) Hops 13.6 IBU
71.00 gm Centennial [8.20%] (Dry Hop 14 days) Hops -
71.00 gm Simcoe [12.30%] (Dry Hop 14 days) Hops -
91.00 gm Centennial [8.20%] (1 min) (Aroma Hop-Steep) Hops -
131.00 gm Challenger [7.70%] (Dry Hop 14 days) Hops -
3.00 doses Brew Brite (Boil 0.0 min) Misc
0.72 kg Cane Sugar (0.0 EBC) Sugar 8.5 %

Beer Profile
Estimated Original Gravity: 1.078 SG (1.075-1.095 SG)
Estimated Final Gravity: 1.020 SG (1.012-1.020 SG)
Estimated Color: 12.0 EBC (15.8-29.6 EBC)
Bitterness: 278.7 IBU (60.0-110.0 IBU)
Estimated Alcohol by Volume: 7.6 % (7.5-10.0 %)

Mash Profile
Name: Single Infusion, Medium Body Mash Tun Weight: 7.50 kg
Mash Grain Weight: 7.73 kg
Sparge Water: 17.16 L

Mash In Add 20.16 L of water at 73.5° C 60 min
Mash Out Add 11.29 L of water at 93.1° C 10 min

Les the Weizguy said:
Pliny the Elder clone

64.00 gm Warrior [16.70%] (90 min) Hops 115.9 IBU
82.00 gm Chinook [11.40%] (90 min) Hops 101.4 IBU
40.00 gm Simcoe [12.30%] (45 min) Hops 47.8 IBU
32.00 gm Challenger [7.70%] (30 min) Hops 13.6 IBU
71.00 gm Centennial [8.20%] (Dry Hop 14 days) Hops -
71.00 gm Simcoe [12.30%] (Dry Hop 14 days) Hops -
91.00 gm Centennial [8.20%] (1 min) (Aroma Hop-Steep) Hops -
131.00 gm Challenger [7.70%] (Dry Hop 14 days) Hops -
BIG BEER!!

I noticed you have Challenger? From what i have read ( which is only half to be believed ) is that they use Columbus. Would using the Challenger be - toning it down a little....lol

Pratty1 said:
BIG BEER!!

I noticed you have Challenger? From what i have read ( which is only half to be believed ) is that they use Columbus. Would using the Challenger be - toning it down a little....lol
Well spotted. This is from MHB, so he may have adjusted for what was available; andor perhaps for when the recipe was added to Brew Builder

Toning it down, though? How could you honestly tell?

no chance of a tone down with that much ibu @ 90m B)

Next one up will be a saison. I had a saison dupont last week, the flag ship 6.5% one. Farking awesome beer. Inspired by for sure.

100% dingemans pils

EKG @ 60
EKG @ 5
I may possibly dry hop this one with more EKG

Long low mash 62-60 mins, maybe more, then 72-15. I'll re check my farmhouse ales book to see if there any detailed info on mash schedule, I'm sure there is. Lots of gypsum to bring out the bitterness. I plan on bottling and leaving a while.

3724, started coolish, then cranked right up.

1:054
33 IBU

Should finish right down low and be around 6.3%ish.

FWIW, I hit my numbers on the Pliny clone and it's remarkable that I got 75% efficiency on a big beer like this.

That wort is biiitter, too.

Am now recovering the wort from all the hop trub and protein trub, by filtering through a large seive. Looks like another 2 litres of disgustingly bitter wort, as well as the 26 litres that went in the 30 litre fermetnor.
Maybe I'll do a forced ferment with the recovered wort...

Les out
*edited for spelling only

Original Pliny the Elder recipe for those interested.
(also gives insight into 'The Younger' recipe, which is basically a modified Elder with more base malt, dextrose, and hops - with the addition of amarillo and quadruple dry-hopping)

Big Double day yesterday.

Double DIPA
1 English
1 American

IPA - One Eyed Sailor
Original Gravity (OG): 1.050 (°P): 12.4
Final Gravity (FG): 1.014 (°P): 3.6
Alcohol (ABV): 4.72 %
Colour (SRM): 10.9 (EBC): 21.5
Bitterness (IBU): 47.4 (Average)

66.83% Maris Otter Malt
23.74% Golden Promise Malt
4.81% Crystal Pale
3.73% Caramalt
0.89% Caramel Dark

0.7 g/L Target (9.8% Alpha) @ 55 Minutes (Boil)
1.1 g/L East Kent Golding (6.4% Alpha) @ 20 Minutes (Boil)
1.4 g/L Bramling Cross (5.6% Alpha) @ 15 Minutes (Boil)
2.1 g/L Fuggles (5% Alpha) @ 10 Minutes (Boil)
1.6 g/L East Kent Golding (6.4% Alpha) @ 2 Minutes (Boil)
1.7 g/L Fuggles (5% Alpha) @ 5 Days (Dry Hop)

Step Infusion at 64/68/72°C for 10/40/10 Minutes. Boil for 80 Minutes
Fermented at 18°C with WLP005 - British Ale

IPA - Highway One Ale
Original Gravity (OG): 1.064 (°P): 15.7
Final Gravity (FG): 1.015 (°P): 3.8
Alcohol (ABV): 6.43 %
Colour (SRM): 9.3 (EBC): 18.4
Bitterness (IBU): 57.5 (Average)

29.38% Golden Promise Malt
29.38% Maris Otter Malt
24.74% JWM Traditional Ale Malt
7.21% Wheat Malt
3.09% Crystal Pale
3.09% Dextrose
3.09% Dry Malt Extract - Light

0.6 g/L Bravo (14.6% Alpha) @ 60 Minutes (Boil)
1.4 g/L Pilot (7.9% Alpha) @ 17 Minutes (Boil)
1 g/L Simcoe (12.2% Alpha) @ 17 Minutes (Boil)
2.2 g/L Pilot (7.9% Alpha) @ 2 Minutes (Boil)
1.6 g/L Simcoe (12.2% Alpha) @ 2 Minutes (Boil)
0.7 g/L Bravo (14.6% Alpha) @ 0 Minutes (Aroma)
1.3 g/L Cascade (7.8% Alpha) @ 5 Days (Dry Hop)
1.3 g/L Centennial (9.7% Alpha) @ 5 Days (Dry Hop)
1.3 g/L Pilot (7.9% Alpha) @ 5 Days (Dry Hop)

Step Infusion at 65/72°C for 60/10 Minutes. Boil for 120 Minutes
Fermented at 18°C with Safale US-05

Hit all my numbers.
Was able to chill with 2 smaller batches....ice bath down to 62c in 12 minutes, pitching temp in 45.
******* long day due to equipment. Spilt wort like a proffessional, here, there and everywhere.
Happy though, slept like a baby, a beer soaked baby, but a baby none the less.

Ah, OK, so I shouldn't have called the Pliny recipe a clone.
Should have remembered how pedantic things get here. Thanks for the post. I believe it will help me improve this beer, with the 2 dry hop additions.

Anyway, after a couple of days of no-chill, the yeast from a 2 litre culture (from a new smack-pack of W1056) was added and agitated today.
Into the fridge/temp-control ferm chamber at 20°C soon.

An easy drinker for me today:

American Pale Ale

1.045 with Vienna and Pilsner and a smidge of Carapils.
40 IBU of Willamette and Cascade 50/50 mix at 60, 10, 5 and dry hopped.

Coopers knockoff for a mate who loves the stuff and often buys me pints (of other beer) when we are out. He buys me so many, I thought I would make him 40 pints of his preferred tipple.

JW ale, some wheat, a tiny hint of dark crystal (30g) and some PoR. Coopers yeast from stubbies.

I brewed a dark mild this morning using the recipe from Brewing Classic Styles. Also cooked 24 cookies and 2 loaves of bread using spent grain.

I'm brewing a Koelsch tomorrow. It'll be my first one so I hope it turns out decent.

OG: 1.045
FG: 1.009

95% Bestmalz Pils
5% Bestmalz Pale Wheat Malt

Hallertauer at 60 min to 24 IBU

Wyeast 2565 at 15 C

Becoming Godparents next month. Taking a keg along for afterwards. I'm a Top Shelf Role Model.

No Short Measure Bitter (Standard/Ordinary Bitter)

Original Gravity : 1.038
Final Gravity : 1.010
Alcohol (ABV): 3.73 %
Colour (SRM): 11.3
Bitterness (IBU): 30.6

89.05% Pale Malt
7.31% Crystal 120
3.64% Special Roast

1.3 g/L East Kent Golding (5.7% Alpha) @ 60 Minutes (Boil)
0.5 g/L East Kent Golding (5.7% Alpha) @ 30 Minutes (Boil)
0.6 g/L East Kent Golding (5.7% Alpha) @ 1 Minutes (Boil)

Single step Infusion at 67°C for 60 Minutes. Boil for 60 Minutes

Fermented at 20°C with Wyeast 1968 - London ESB Ale

Recipe Generated with BrewMate