Victory Substitute

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SG9090

Reaction score
Hi all,

I was reading older messages about a substitute of Victory, and did not see anyone mention Dingemans Biscuit Malt from Grape and Grain im quite new to the AG brewing and from what i understand it sounds as if it would be quite a good substitute though have not seen it mentioned.
Have i over looked something?

Regards,

Shane

I've read a few people mention it is a decent sub but there seems to be more recommendations for amber malt. Dunno how many of those recommending it have used Victory but I was personally swayed enough by sheer weight of numbers to order some amber as a sub myself today.

Looking forward to replies that make me regret not asking for myself.

Pretty sure victory = biscuit. Whether belgian biscuit = english biscuit is another story but that's where I would start. Not experienced with victory malt but I can state with certainty that dingeman's biscuit is fantastic.

In the front of my Brewing Classic Styles I have the following condensed summery of most similar threads on these and other forums:
Victory = biscuit / amber / (melanoidan)

.....and did not see anyone mention Dingemans Biscuit Malt .......

I'm pretty sure that Dingeman's malts have only been readily available on these shores for the last year or two, which might explain why it wasn't mentioned.

Palmer's How To Brew gives the same description to Biscuit and Victory, which he lists under Amber Malt 25 Lovibond. Sounds like Biscuit is what you're after.

for the record, biscuit and amber, regardless of the EBC are DIFFERENT malts. the reason why is one is partially converted in the husk and then kilned, the other is kinled green.