Using FRESH POR

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

surly

Reaction score
Hey guys,

I have a couple of hops I have been growing at home. One is a POR.
Curiously, I find the cones to smell really fruity and delicious when crushed-up. This got me wondering if anyone has brewed with the fresh hops aiming for flavour and aroma?

Had about 8-10 people over recently and passed around a cone. I asked them what they thought it smelled like, I heard everything from "Guava", "Passionfruit" and "beer". Someone even said it reminded them of Hargreaves ESB (all non-brewers).

I have never used fresh hops before, but would really like to brew something designed to display this hop, beyond the simple bittering it is typically used for.

Does anyone have any recipe advice? Hop scheduling? Slightly concerned about dry-hopping with these due to being a fresh, green plant...
For the record, I no-chill.

Here is a pic. Everyone loves pics

IMAG0007.jpg

Bribie G said:
Send me 100g and I'll test it out for you.
Sure, I send 100g POR to you.
You brew, keep a few long necks and send the rest back to me? DEAL!

just toss some in at about 20-30 mins and see how you go. i love fresh POR.

POR isn't a great hop used late in general. It comes out very herbal and when aged turns woody. Its ok for Porters and the like.

I recommend drying it and dry hopping with it. Much better that way. A bittering addition and dry hop is the way to go.

hoppy2B said:
POR isn't a great hop used late in general. It comes out very herbal and when aged turns woody. Its ok for Porters and the like.

I recommend drying it and dry hopping with it. Much better that way. A bittering addition and dry hop is the way to go.
I was thinking a fairly standard Pal Ale type grist.