Those crazy Germans

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Colo

Reaction score
Hello All,

Im new to well...everything (these forums, brewing, comedy).

Making my second brew and have decided to make a German Hefewiezen, as I love a good wheat beer. Used the coopers kit with a dry hop bag and DME with a WB-06 yeast. Have my baby wrapped in a blankie for the cold Brisbane nights, but sits at around 22-23c during the day. After 2 weeks primary fermenting she is still bubbling away, which I have read can be normal for wheat beers and the best way to test if ready is by gravity readings.

My second question which I havent been able to find the answer to is, because during primary fermentation the brew is so happy (still bubbling away after 2 weeks) when bottling do I still use carbonation drops? Reading other forums, people are saying that wheat beer is normally a young beer and can be drunk young. However if I use carbonation drops, wont I have to wait around 2 weeks for the secondary fermentation to occur, which is getting close to a normal brewing cycle of a lager?

Little confused on the above and would appreciate any help provided.

Cheers

If you want your beer carbonated then, yes, you need to prime it with sugar of some description and wait for that sugar to ferment out in the bottles. A beer is still considered young in the time it takes to carb. Many beers benefit from extended aging in the bottle (within reason, style dependant, etc) which is where the distinction for those wheat beer styles you mention comes in to play.

So, yeah, prime the bottles, wait for them to carb up, drink them. Start again asap.