Taking The Plunge.. First Brew

Usually, I just boil them for 5 mins then pour it into the fermenter. Depending on how hoppy you like your beers you may want to pour in the residual, or pour it through a stocking or something. I know a couple of my first brews were too hoppy and bitter. Its all about how you like your beer.
Im sure someone will be able to give you a more comprehensive answer. Im just starting out too! :D

Just put them in a mug ,pour boiling water on them , make a hoppy cup of tea , add it to the fermenter
Easy azz

Finishing hops as your brew shop describes them are probably a tea like sachet with some hops in them.
Add to secondary for some aroma.

You didn't make a wrong decision by getting pellets, and can use them as described by the other responses. However they won't add bitterness, just aroma. Unless you use a shitload and then it will just be sensory overload :p

I Have just finished this brew as described above, the current temp is 22 C so I've got the frozen water bottles around it now, just trying to lower it a little more to get it between 18 and 21 as mentioned before.

With the hops Pellets I just put them in a cup of boiling water and mixed it around, was going to strain it all but at the end decided to chuck it all in, if it's too much for me I will learn for next time.

Thanks to all who offered advice, will let you all know when I give it the true test... TASTE

One quick thing.. How long until it should start bubbling and then also how long will it last for ish (4-7 days it says in the booklet.. correct?)

Thanks Again
SD :D

If you used Safale, It'll probably be bubbling in 10 hours or so, maybe longer, depending on how low you can get the temps. Don't rely too much on the bubbling, though, as fermenters often leak.

- Snow

UPDATE: After about 6 hours of making the batch I have noticed lots of 'something' floating on the top of the brew.

At first I thought it was mold and I had an infection of somekind but then I looked closer and most of it is a greeny colour, similar to the hops.

SO my question is: Does the hops float to the surface in patches OR could I have an infection already OR is this normal and nothing I should worry about?

sluggerdog,
the green stuff would be the hop pellets. so should be fine.

roach

sluggerdog,

Good luck with your first brew.......like you mate I am new to brewing but thanks to this site and John Palmers how to brew site I am on a steep learning curve! I have found a heaps of good hints in the fact file section of this site as well as had heaps of my ?s answered. I am upto brew No 5 now and feeling more confident about what I am doing.........I just can't wait to taste my progress :lol:

Cheers-Russ

sluggerdog

Your not been brewing long , you have to learn this before you go to much further

R.D.W.H.A.H.B.

Slugger, just a warning - you will probably get a thick off-white foamy mass on top of your brew. This is not an infection, it is Krausen and is a sign of healthy fermentation. Don't do as my friend did yesterday and throw it all down the sink! He fairly freaked when I told him there was nothing wrong with his brew! :lol:

- Snow

Snow said:
Slugger, just a warning - you will probably get a thick off-white foamy mass on top of your brew. This is not an infection, it is Krausen and is a sign of healthy fermentation. Don't do as my friend did yesterday and throw it all down the sink! He fairly freaked when I told him there was nothing wrong with his brew! :lol:

- Snow
Excellent

Snow - Thanks for that Snow, it has happened and I wasn't too sure, however it looked to me as though it was similar to a head on beer so I thought it must be ok...

fishard - Thanks mate good to see there's others out there in a similar boat to me, all the best hey.

Batz - R.D.W.H.A.H.B. ???

roach - Cool thanks, thought so

Good tip Snow.
I tipped my second ever brew too, because there was no activity through the airlock and when I looked inside there was this big white foam with brown bits on top. And it smelt funny.
Of couse it would've been the best beer :D

R.D.W.H.A.H.B = Relax, dont worry, have a home brew

GMK said:
3/ get a second fermenter as soon as u can - needed for racking and dry hopping.
Hey, is anyone able to help me out with this part at all?

I was at bunning yesterday and noticed they have water containers (very similar to a fermenter without the hole in the top - BTW it was $16.00 the tap was about $1.00 extra) would this be suitable or so I need to have the hole in the top for the second fermenter.

How does the second stage work and what is needed to be done?

Yep they'll be fine

cool, so how does the whole process work?

I can prime and also do the hops in this second stage correct?

Grumpy's have some good explanations of racking and bulk priming. The only point of note is when to rack, some do it early when the yeast is active (bubbles in airlock, say day 3) while other ppl rack after say a week. People sometimes have trouble with the beer not fermenting out fully if you rack early, myself I rack at one week so I don't generally have this problem. (this is assuming ales, lagers take much longer to ferment at low temps so you wouldn't rack one of these until your ferment is finished perhaps 3 - 4 weeks).

Anyway:

Racking Link

Bulk Priming Link

Have fun :)

Sluggerdog,

I bought one of the water drums and taps from Bunnings I use this as my bulk priming bucket. You need this to free up one of your fermenters when you get into racking so as to keep the brewing going! I would buy another coopers kit as the fermenter has an airlock wich you still need after racking. Plus it does not hurt to have two of everything. B)

Cheers-Russ