Ginger beer + extras

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

troycookie

Reaction score
I am new to homerewing but just started drinking my first Ginger beer today. Pretty happy with the results for a half batch with Brigalow kit, see: newbie thread Newbie from the Tropics
But now for my second batch which I am putting down today.

Ingredients
Full tin Morgan's Ginger Beer
1kg Goodies pack (Dextrose, Corn Syrup, Malt)
500g Dark brown sugar
1 cinnamon stick
2 lemons sliced
250gm fresh ginger
1 birdeye chilli
2 Star Anise
4 Cardarmon pods
5 Cloves
750ml Buderim Ginger Cordial

Fingers crossed!

Last edited:
Looks good let us know how it turns out.

Love ginger beer would love to hear how it goes.
Yeah I love ginger beer also.

I kegged it for 2 days and it turned out fantastic. 23l only lasted two weeks with heap of mates enjoying a few with me.
Had nice body and the additional spices were there but not too prominent. Suprisingly the chili gave it a nice little bite to the end, probably could handle another one but I like the little hint. SG was 1032 and FG 1000.

I just put down another batch 2 days ago but replaced the lemons with lime, added 1kg brown sugar instead and added a teaspoon of vanilla essence.

SG 1038.

im fairly new to brewing and just put on a brigalows kit with about 450g of fresh ginger, 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract and 2 cinnamon sticks (uncrushed). Brewing in a pressure fermenter with 1 kg malt sugar and 1kg of #15 booster blend. Im a bit chicken to try the chillies yet but will update on how this one goes in 4-6 weeks.
Wish me luck!!!

Yeah I love ginger beer also.

I kegged it for 2 days and it turned out fantastic. 23l only lasted two weeks with heap of mates enjoying a few with me.