Stupid Mistake With My Mead

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chookers

Reaction score
Well Im no expert or even close when it comes to homebrewing.. I just start dabling with mead. But I did something really stupid, I was tired and it was late. I put my hot honey mixture in my 1 Gallon glass demijon and fitted the airlock with a bleach solution.. I know I should not have done this.. I got up this morning and of course some of the solution had gotten sucked in..

My question is: Should I thow the lot away.. or will the bleach solution in the mead mix eventually evaporate leaving a safe drink behind.

Any help on this matter would be very much appreciated... I really dont want to waste it, I think I had been on a good one.

Pretty much every municipal water authority chlorinates the water so unless it was pure bleach I think you'll be okay. Meads usually take a long time to finish anyway so that gives you time for it to dissipate. I wouldn't worry about it too much.

Pretty much every municipal water authority chlorinates the water so unless it was pure bleach I think you'll be okay. Meads usually take a long time to finish anyway so that gives you time for it to dissipate. I wouldn't worry about it too much.

Thanks for that.. it was that aldi brand bleach..

On the note of it taking a long time.. I once made a mead one year and years later found it still sweet (too sweet infact) I added 1/3rd more water with some yeast nutrients and some EC-118.. and it made a fantastic spritzy semi-dry drink.. it was lovely.. since then I have been unsucessful in recreating it.. very sad.

So is there such a thing as a fast track mead.. Im not the most patient person in the world.

Thanks for you reply