Storing full bottles

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nullnvoid

Reaction score
They say the only stupid question is the question that isn't asked. I may change that with my question. However it's puzzled me since I started brewing a couple of months ago and Dr Google can't seem to answer it. And plus, we are all friends here aren't we? Aren't we? Anyway....

Do you have to store your full bottles anywhere special? Currently I'm storing them all in the chest freezer with the fermenter, but as I am brewing more and more, I want to put them somewhere else. I have another large esky I can put them in, but is this overkill and I can only store so many bottles. Is just a milk crate in the garage good enough at a consistent temperature?

I know they say that after bottling you have to maintain the same fermenter temperature for approx 10 days.

Maybe I just need to drink harder but trying to get a good supply going so I don't run out :)

(Can't wait for the case swap, I feel I may learn a whole heap)

Cheers!

If you make sure that fermentation is finished before bottling then it's quite ok to store your bottles in a cool, dark place.

I know they say that after bottling you have to maintain the same fermenter temperature for approx 10 days.
Milk crate at room temp in a cupboard or similar is fine in the majority of cases.

bottle Storage.JPG

Just avoid storage at elevated temps...dos not do your brews any good.

As TP says, cool and dark

Storing them out of direct sunlight it a good idea because the bottles aren't a 100% UV barrier and you don't want skunked beer. Once they're carbonated colder is better, but as long as it's not stupidly hot it's fine. So a dark corner of your garage will be perfect. Mine are in boxes on shelves in my kitchen.