Its coming into Weizen season now, and I've been putting off doing a step mash for a while now as I'm worried i'm gonna thin the mash by using boiling water to step it up, and I'm not really keen on doing decoctions, as I don't have that much time to remove portions of the mash and do potential guesswork and most likely miss the step temps by a few degrees. So, I was thinking and researching on the web, and thought What about using steam for step mashing.
Well, my brew setup's probably easier than most peoples, and suits me fine. I mash in a completely sealed unaltered insulated plastic 26L esky (temp may drop 1-2C over one hour) not made as a traditional mash tun, I basically infusion mash BIAB without the sparge water, hoist the grain out and into my 50L stockpot for a dunk sparge and (sometimes) mashout, then hoist the 5+kg of grains above the kettle and suspend it there, and it drains while I boil. I generally get between 70-75% efficiency, and got 82% one day (not always a good thing may I add...).
Getting onto the point here, does anyone use steam to do step mashing? To me, this sounds like a nice and easy way to control the mash temps more accurately in a step mash without risking ending up with a thinning mash.
If anyone does this, can you share your ideas on a setup? I'm gonna speak with a mate of mine who is a sparky and see what he can make for me, but would love to hear any thoughts or current methods for this outr there? I've read about the pressure cooker method. Any others?
I was thinking a steam rod would be great (think a coffee machine steam rod, but longer), one that can be inserted into the mash for a few minutes to raise the temp to the next step, OR, raise the grain bag out of the mash, heat the water a few degrees higher, then drop the bag back in and adjust to temp.
Thoughts/opinions to share?
Stevo
Its coming into Weizen season now, and I've been putting off doing a step mash for a while now as I'm worried i'm gonna thin the mash by using boiling water to step it up, and I'm not really keen on doing decoctions, as I don't have that much time to remove portions of the mash and do potential guesswork and most likely miss the step temps by a few degrees. So, I was thinking and researching on the web, and thought What about using steam for step mashing.
Well, my brew setup's probably easier than most peoples, and suits me fine. I mash in a completely sealed unaltered insulated plastic 26L esky (temp may drop 1-2C over one hour) not made as a traditional mash tun, I basically infusion mash BIAB without the sparge water, hoist the grain out and into my 50L stockpot for a dunk sparge and (sometimes) mashout, then hoist the 5+kg of grains above the kettle and suspend it there, and it drains while I boil. I generally get between 70-75% efficiency, and got 82% one day (not always a good thing may I add...).
Getting onto the point here, does anyone use steam to do step mashing? To me, this sounds like a nice and easy way to control the mash temps more accurately in a step mash without risking ending up with a thinning mash.
If anyone does this, can you share your ideas on a setup? I'm gonna speak with a mate of mine who is a sparky and see what he can make for me, but would love to hear any thoughts or current methods for this outr there? I've read about the pressure cooker method. Any others?
I was thinking a steam rod would be great (think a coffee machine steam rod, but longer), one that can be inserted into the mash for a few minutes to raise the temp to the next step, OR, raise the grain bag out of the mash, heat the water a few degrees higher, then drop the bag back in and adjust to temp.
Thoughts/opinions to share?
Stevo