Saying G'day

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chillihilli

Reaction score
Hi There, just thought I'd pop my head up and say Hi. I'm new to brewing, new to the forum, but have gleaned a lot from this forum so thanks!!

Brews so far:
Ginger Beer #1
- Home made wort made up from what I reckoned would taste good (Fresh Ginger, Lime, Vanilla) and raw sugar 500g to make up about 15Litres
- Bottled and primed way to early to try and keep it low alcohol
- Developed nasty sulphur taste and smelled like eggs
- Conditioned in the bottle of the next couple of months to turn out quite OK. Great aroma, but a little dry and light on the mouth feel.

Ginger Beer # 2 "Ranga"
- Home made wort from 500g of chopped ginger, 1 whole lime and about 800g of Coopers Brewing Sugar, made up to about 23 litres. Hopefully alcohol low enough for kids to drink.
- Fermented for about 7 days, primed and bottled.
- Has been bottled for about a week, will let you know how it turns out. Its very clear, but smells and tastes good so far.

Brew # 3 - Hoegaarden clone
- Thomas Coopers Wheat Beer, 1 Kg of wheat malt extract, SAF T-58 yeast, 20 g of dried orange peel, 15 g of cracked coriander
- Learnt that malt sticks light shit to a blanket, and adding it to hot canned wort is a great way to make malt toffee
- Finally disolved the works, got the temp down with refrigerated water and poured the whole lot unstrained in the fermenter made up to 21 L
- Has been fermenting between 22 and 24 for about a week now, and still bubbling. Smells great, will bottle soon.

Brew # 4 - Coopers Pale Ale
- Tried this as it is my fave bottled drink
- Substituted the yeast with SAF T-58, but otherwise used the instructions, including the 1 kg of brew enhancer
- Made up to 21 Litres. Gravity checked at 1041.