Recipe Conversion Help.

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chefeffect

Reaction score
I am fairly new to all grain brewing, I use a BIAB set up and have just started using beersmith2. When I convert recipes from therecipeDB I seem to be getting different IBU's, EBCS, and OG/FG than what is in the recipeDB sheet?? Should I adjust the recipe specs in the software to get the exact specs from the recipeDB? I assume this will just totally change the original recipe as all software will differ slightly.

I have been adding the ingredients, batch volume, and efficiency from the recipe, what equipment should put into the software? Do I put the efficiency from the recipe into the efficiency in the software and then hit the convert button to get it set to my equipment/efficiency?

I appoligise for my miss matched questions, just wanting to know what others do to convert recipes to get them similar to the ones on the recipeDB.

I am fairly new to all grain brewing, I use a BIAB set up and have just started using beersmith2. When I convert recipes from therecipeDB I seem to be getting different IBU's, EBCS, and OG/FG than what is in the recipeDB sheet?? Should I adjust the recipe specs in the software to get the exact specs from the recipeDB? I assume this will just totally change the original recipe as all software will differ slightly.

I have been adding the ingredients, batch volume, and efficiency from the recipe, what equipment should put into the software? Do I put the efficiency from the recipe into the efficiency in the software and then hit the convert button to get it set to my equipment/efficiency?

I appoligise for my miss matched questions, just wanting to know what others do to convert recipes to get them similar to the ones on the recipeDB.