Protein rest?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

_Mick_

Reaction score
Hey guys, just wondering if I could get some plane language info on the importance of protein rests during a mash. I'm relatively new to all grain and only done single temp infusion mashes.

Cheers
Mick.

With modern malt you do not really need to worry about a protein rest. However if you are using non malted ingredients such as raw or flaked grains it could be beneficial.

A protein rest can be done to break down proteins that may be present in wort. There are two temperature ranges that are most effective for breaking these proteins down and effect different types of proteins.

There are two different types of proteins that we brewers care about. The first type causes haze in the beer (chill haze) and the second helps with head retention/body.

The range 45-53C is the temperature that breaks down the haze creating proteins. A rest in this range is used to clear the beer.
The temperature range 56-58C breaks down the head retention/body proteins. A rest in this range is used to thin out a beer.

The use of these rests is dependent on your ingredients and what type of beer you want to make.

RB

You will see a lot of text book reasons why with modern malts you don't need too, and a lot of people who have never tried them telling you not to do it.

All my beers get a 55c /. 5min step. Try it for yourself and see what it does for your beer.

Interesting stuff, my next brew will be a dry lager using just pils malt and rice so a good rest at the 45-53c range would be beneficial to clear up the end product?

QldKev said:
You will see a lot of text book reasons why with modern malts you don't need too, and a lot of people who have never tried them telling you not to do it.