Precipitous learning curve...

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Drover's dog

Reaction score
I’m new to this brewing caper and not in the least bit apologetic to admit to it…
I’ll give you a quick run-down on my yet to be tested system then ask the underlying reason for my post.
40 Litre Electric Nano BIAB pot
Grainfather Pro fermenter
Magnetic stirrer and associated stuff and a couple of excellent books if you understand the jargon.

That’s about it in terms of gear. Now the question that has me on the precipice - My first brewery sheet arrived with my grains etc. This is a recipe for a Cream ale. We go through the process of the mash, then the sparge, the boil and finally the fermentation. I understand enough to eliminate the sparge but I am left with a deficit in total volume for the boil (10L). Therefore my question is at what volume do I mash, the Brew Day sheet calls for a batch size of 23L with total water required at 33L. So without the sparge volume how much should I use at mash time and expect to end up with at time of fermentation.

I do hope this is elementary to you because it surely has me more than a little confused.

I have every confidence in my Aussie Brewer comrades to line me up for a first brew win.

Well you have your total water, I do the no sparge method so that would be the amount of water I would use to dough into. Rule of thumb you can dough 1 kg of grain into 3 to 4 litres of water so if your recipe is 5 kg of grain that would mean you have 15 to 20 litres of water. I like mine on the thinner side so for me it would be the 20 litre.

Are you doing biab then? A 33L mash? If you are asking what happens to the extra 10L you lose it to the grain and evaporation during boil.