New to brewing

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Oscara

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I'm new to brewing and will be starting out doing BIAB. I'm sure to make mistakes but hopefully with enough reading and learning from this site I'll minimise those mistakes. I'm not a big beer drinker but do enjoy a good beer especially the German wheat beers. I've ordered most of my gear and hopping to start my first brew in the next week or two. For now I'll keep reading and getting familiar with all the terminologies and dos and don't.
Thanks for the great site everyone... Oscar

Yes in the deep end all right! Im now getting my head around yeast and the importance on getting that right. Hmm do I invest in a conical flask and magnetic stirrer. This is going to be an expensive hobby.

Welcome

Personally I'd invest in a decent fridge, heat source and a temp controller (preferably one with heat and cool outputs so I could lug in the fridge and heat pad/cord/other option, set temp and forget, before a stir plate. YMMV

I ordered this morning a 37l ss pot with tap and short probe thermometer, 2 large fine mesh bags, a refractor meter and hop spider. I also have a hand me down fermenter. I have a burner for cooking paella (Spanish rice dish) which i will need to test to see if it can bring a 37l pot to a boil. So far thats it. Still learning yeasts and trying to decide what beer to start with once everything arrives.

Blind Dog said:
Welcome
Personally I'd invest in a decent fridge, heat source and a temp controller (preferably one with heat and cool outputs so I could lug in the fridge and heat pad/cord/other option, set temp and forget, before a stir plate. YMMV
Is that a fridge to store fermenter etc. If so the only place available is under the house (under cover deck) which has about 4.5 feet clearance