New To Brew

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

QIK86

Reaction score
Hey guys,

I've been reading a bit here since I discovered the site and must say, your knowledge on the world of brewing has blown me away. I've learnt more about brewing from my visits here than I have about almost any subject in such a small space of time. So first of all, thank you!

I'm fairly new to brewing, having had a nice result from my first attempt (a Tooheys Special Draught kit), I've got a Coopers Mexican Cerveza ageing in the shed and I'm almost ready to bottle my third and put down my fourth straight away.

My questions involve the one I'm almost ready to bottle. It is a Morgan's Queenslander Lager kit which I did as per the instructions simply adding 1kg of Dextrose and filling to 23L and using the kit yeast. First off, can anyone tell me if the kit yeast is a true lager yeast, or is it a more generic ale yeast to better suit the typical QLD weather?

As we were having a particularly cold snap when I put the brew down, I purchased a heat mat and used that. When I got home from work the next day, the wort was sitting on a constant 28C and had frothed out of the airlock. After more investigation on here, I found the temp was far too high, so turned the heater off. Since then, I have invested in a cheap electrical timer which I have set to a cycle of on for 1 hour, off for 3 hours, which has seen my brew sitting at a steady 18C-20C ever since.

Just wondering though, could the initial 24hrs or so of 28C temperatures have any lasting side effects? I have read about Fusel Alcohols and have myself a little worried. :(

My next brew is going to be a Coopers Australian Pale Ale, using the can, 500g Dextrose, 250g Light Dry Malt and 250g Corn Syrup. My first try at something other than the boring old 1kg of Dextrose! :p