My First Brew...is It To Hot!?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

theMISSIONARY

Reaction score
Gday all i have been lerking in the back ground.....its time to come forth

i got my brew kit WEST BREW kit............i got a Coopers Brewmaster-Wheet beer can and yeast

but its getting some what hot here! 36 degrees today and the aircons not working it gets to 32 deg in the house......

so is it to hot??.........to start a brew

i like my schofferhofer and james squire wheat beers........dont like pilsner(i havent had a good one maybe :p )

i dont have the $$$ to get a fridge so what can i do if its to hot

and im using PET bottles(750ml)for the second ferment is it to hot for this too?

so any help for a poor noob :blink:

thanks steve

Mate you got problems
30+ is too hot to make good beer, I dont know where you live (update your signature) but you might have to limit your self to winter brewing if it's into the 30t's already.

If you are out west evaporative cooling can work wonders, a tub of water and some calico or an old towel and a fan can knock 10 degrees off a brew.
Best idea is to get a Brisseybrew controller and an old fridge - less than $ 100 - all up and make good beer.

The other problem you have, not liking pilsner!
Sorry can't help you there, tho I would consider electroshock or medication as possible solutions.

MHB

Have a read of the threads pinned or "airlocked" at the start of the forums, in particular the new brewer FAQ in the kit and kilo forum. This covers the best temperature to brew at and also easy ways to keep your brew cool. It also covers heaps of other points you need to know. There is a huge amount of information in the posts pinned.

Your brew will ferment at 30, but you may not like the results.

Bugger brewing a beer. :(

Get your Aircon fixed instead! :D