Midstrength Aussie Bitter

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Beerbuoy

Reaction score
O.K I'm quite new to HB. Did a few years ago and just getting back into it. Have put down 2 brews, bottled 1 and tasted none.

I like to keep the alco content down a little and I prefer Aussie style beers to those fancy imported things so here's the plan for my aussie midstrength.

I have a 60 lt fermenter and plan on doing a double brew.

2 cans of Coopers Premium Australian Bitter and a 1.5 kg can of light malt topped up to 46 lt. The instructions recomend a 1.5 kg can of dry malt for a single brew, ie 1 can of coopers bitter to 1 can of malt but I plan on using only half to keep the alco content down. Will this work?

Next thing is hops. I was going to use some extra hops in the fermenter, the teabag type. Will this make it too bitter considering there will be less sweetness from the reduced malt?

Anyones 2 cents worth welcome

Cheers

Beerbuoy

Sure it will work.
Will it be tasty?
Only time will tell.
The fellahs at the brew companies who design these kits know what they are doing, and set things up to be easy for first time brewers.
Departing from their instructions, is the first step into a bigger brighter brewing world, tho.
Give it a whirl and see what you think.

All I would say, is that 50litres is a lot of shit beer to throw out if it does fail.

If you have the capacity, consider splitting it into 2 or 4 and try different things (different extract cans/different hops/malt vs sugar/maybe steeping grain) then brew a double batch from the best result.