Metallic taste - from hops?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Professional beer tester

Reaction score
Hi all,

So I'm new to this whole home brew thing and have been brewing beer at 'The Beer Factory' in Sydney to get the hang of things before I branch out on my own.

We brewed a Pilsner but dumped a load of extra hops in at the end 4 weeks ago, and yesterday it came out tasting like a rusty copper coin. Really nasty metal taste. You could smell the hops nicely on the nose, but the taste was more metallic than a Tooheys New / Carlton Draught.

We'd done the same recipe before and it came out really sweet, same fermentation time, same addition of hops at the end.

The owner told me the metallic taste was from the 'late addition of hops'

Can anyone help me here?

Call me a novice, but I don't think a late addition of 85g Citra and 15g Halletau would make a beer taste metallic.

Cheers,
PBT.

Metallic is not likely to be hops. Either equipment or fatty acid breakdown/oxidation.

Late hops? Never heard that. Either the guy knows something I don't (more than possible) or he's talking out his bung hole.

Infection.

I'll go one step further and call it aceter. Is it actually metallic or a bit more varnish or nail polish?

Well by looking at that maybe old mate has been using old or poorly stored grain.

Hi guys, thanks heaps for the advice.

As I'm unaware of what happens after the (liquid) malt, hops and yeast go into the plastic-bag fermenter, I'm not too sure what happened. Possibly was piped into a new keg before it was tapped (they force-carb into taps rather than bottle condition).

Is it something that will die down with age / get worse / worth dumping the whole lot and investing in some kind of single-vessel all-grain unit?