Liquid Vs Dry Malt - Equivalent Dosage?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ploppy

Reaction score
Hi, I'm relatively new to brewing and have a quick question about the amount of liquid malt to use. I bought some Coopers India Pale Ale extract at my local homebrew shop, and since it was part of a special deal, I got a free 1.5 kg can of liquid malt extract with it.

The instructions say to use 500g of Coopers dry malt extract + 300g dextrose, or alternatively liquid malt extract. So far so good, but just as I was about to start my brew I realised I wasn't quite sure about how much liquid malt extract is equivalent to the 500g of dry malt and 300g of dextrose.

So...how much of the liquid malt extract should I use? The entire 1.5kg tin? I'm assuming so, but I'm not really sure if the liquid stuff is more or less potent than the dry stuff in terms of how much fermentable sugar it contains. If anyone can clear this up for me, it would be much appreciated!

Liquid malt extract is about 80% solids and 20% water,therefore 1.5kg LME will yield around 1.2kg of fermentables,as opposed to the 800 gms of the other combo.

Personally i would add the 1.5 kg of LME and get a little more alc,and body which will suit the style more.(but thats just me) :rolleyes:

Second the whole 1.7kg of liquid extract in there. Should make for a decent full bodied brew, and give you decent alc% of around 5-5.5 off the top of my head.

[Edit Note: For those reading through this thread, my reply below will seem as though I've totally missed the question asked. The original post was a little ambiguous so I assumed that all Ploppa had was the India Pale Ale. Ploppa quickly fixed this with an edit which I just noticed today. Cheers!]

How goes it Ploppy!