Legally sell homemade craft beer? (as a main income)

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi guys;

I realise that maybe I'm in the wrong place of the forum to ask about that but, please, forgive-me.

That's the deal... I'm not and australian. To be honest, I'm not even ON Australia right now... I'm a Portuguese living in Brazil for the past (approx.) 16 years. I'm married with a Brazilian woman and thins here are starting to change for the worse FAST! That being said, my wife has been planning and thinking about live abroad, and how I would love that (actualy I would, she's right)...

The thing is... I have no idea how is the legal aspects of homebrewing at your lovely country! I've been homebrewing cider, mead, perry, sake and craft beer for the last 5 years and since she is the one that has the ability to get a skilled visa to Australia, I'm kind of a loose end here...

Giving this actual status, I've been thinking; "what a hell, I usually brew 200˜300lt per week as a hobby! maybe I can finally work with it for real!"

After this happy thought I started to send loads of resumées and cover letters but it seems that there's no job available at any craft brewery or brewpub.

So I decided to start thinking about brewing my own beer and sell it as a main income way, but I don't know if this is possible (by the legal perspective).. Do you guys have and info about to help me out? It is possible to homebrew and sell as a main income? If so, is it a complicated process? If I can't, what is the smallest step possible ahead from that? Can build a brewery for 10k Lt/year or something like that?