Leftover lager

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cooltobelou

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I'm new to brewing, but have done a fair bit of reading on this excellent forum and hopefully picked up a few tips (thanks!).

I bought a bunch of stuff to do the first few kit and extract brews and largely followed existing recipes. I'll be putting the third down this weekend (an IPA) and there are two currently conditioning in bottles - an English Summer Ale and an American Pale Ale (it's almost torture waiting for these!).

Now I'm trying to plan for the fourth. I'm looking at trying a lager with what I already have lying around (other than the lager yeast, which I need to buy) and was wondering if this looks okay? This is my first go at doing a recipe from scratch so I've kept it pretty simple.

Boil:
200gm light crystal malt grains (steeped for 60 mins in 2L water)
3L additional water (5L total)
500gm light DME
25gm Amarillo @ 30 mins
25gm Cascade @ 10 mins

Add to FV with:
1kg light DME
1kg Coopers BE2
Water to 21L
Saflager w34/70

Any thoughts?

Hi mate,

Generally looks OK if you are after an American style hoppy lager rather than a Euro type (Hoppy lagers can be delicious).

A few things to note:

1. I'd need to run through a calculator to be sure but off the top of my head, your gravity will be quite low - what abv are you aiming for?
2. Again, I'd need to run through a calculator and know the aa% of the hops but bitterness may also be low. By adding some hops earlier/boiling for longer you will add more bitterness - again it depends on desired level. If boiling the hops longer, you will lose/reduce some of the more aromatic characteristics of the hops. Alternatively, you could buy more hops or reduce the volume (which would also alter abv/gravity as mentioned above).