Johnson Temp Controller - Arrgghh!

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mongo

Reaction score
Hi,

I just bought a Johnson "A1" (?) temp controller. I think it's just your standard temp controller.

The instructions that come with it are extremely brief, and well over my head. Has anyone out there successfully installed one of these things? if so, is there a good source of instructions or pics on the internet.

I have searched these forums a fair bit for help and have so far come up with nothing. If there is in fact something here, could you please put a link to it if it is easily accessible to you?

Alternateively, please feel free to tell me I'm "dreamin'" if you think that I have buckleys of being able to do it. Basically, my background is that I am a computer nerd with no sparky knowledge other than that requred to put together a computer.

I'm dreamin aren't I?

I have one of these doohickeys. I got it mail order from somewhere in the east many years ago, it came assembled with an electrical lead fitted.

Is yours disassembled? What exactly do you need to do to it to get it working?

fwiw, it works great and is accurate to the degree.

This may be a different unit but might help

tc3.JPG

fantastic! Great help.
So:
I assume you using this for cooling, not heating, and that this unit deals with the power cord before it reaches the fridge.
My unit is very similar, but it is lacking the cords at the bottom.
Thanks, I am off to investigate my unit with some renewed optimism!
Cheers.

OK - I (think) I've had a win.
On further invetigation (and a bit of disassembling), I have discovered the following:
* The "temperature control" in the fridge section just opens a gate connecting the freezer to the fridge.
* The Freezer seems to house the actual temperature controller.