I'm Excited!

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hefty

Reaction score
I finally got to put my CPA down.
After my last three brews each had different little things about them that bugged me, (and I'm touching wood as I say this coz I don't want to jinx it) this one seems to have gone entirely to plan.
I harvested Coopers bottle yeast, it tasted and smelled great just before pitching, my OG was within 2 points of what I had calculated (1041, expected 1043), the yeast kicked off well overnight and my dodgey fridge is holding comfortably between 16 and 18 degrees.
I'll be testing FG at two weeks and onwards and then someone will have to lock me up to stop me getting at it before it's had at least a month in the bottle.

Jono.

P.S. Maybe it's just because I'm still a bit of a noob but I realised this week that if you really want to train your palate in yeast flavour profiles, when you're tasting and smelling a tiny bit of your starter slurry for infections, taste some of the starter beer as well (if you can pour some off before pitching). Without the hops, I really noticed the apple and pear esters in my Coopers starter when in the past I'd struggled to notice them in the real beer itself.

Good luck Hefty, let us know how it goes.
If you can keep the temp between 16-18C I'd be interested to hear your opinion on the yeast flavour profile :- apple/pear as opposed to intense banana.

What ingredients did you use?

Cheers,
BB

Cheers BB,
I used the Coopers pale ale tin, 500g LDM, 500g dex (50/50 as opposed to 60/40 only coz I bought a 500g bag of LDM) and a POR teabag.