I Think I've Forgotten How To Brew!

braufrau

Autumn Leaf Brewery
5 months since I last brewed and now I have to pull out the tun etc. and I don't think I can remember how.
I got my AG setup late last year but I never mastered it because my thermometer was broken and confusing me and now I can't remember my routine. :(

Oh RAHAHB right?

damn straight.

welcome back braufrau, been a while btwn posts.

you never actually forget how to brew you just misplace the info. go forth a brew a ripper.

nonsense - its like riding a bike, just get on and youll be right!

I was wondering what happened. Welcome back... whats the first one up?

10 line refresher, for more detailed and educated advice, consult Mr Palmer.

Do calculations or just borrow someone elses recipe.
Measure and mill grain
Heat water to 62-69 degrees.
Put water into Mash tun, add milled grains and stir.
Leave that for an hour or so.
Drain the mash tun slowly into your kettle and boil.
Add hops at appropriate times
Throw in a whilfloc tablet and whirpool near the end of a 60 minute, or so, boil
Put the hot sweet wort into your sanitised cube.
Clean up the mess.

:D

10 line refresher, for more detailed and educated advice, consult Mr Palmer.

Do calculations or just borrow someone elses recipe.
Measure and mill grain
Heat water to 62-69 degrees.
Put water into Mash tun, add milled grains and stir.
Leave that for an hour or so.
Drain the mash tun slowly into your kettle and boil.
Add hops at appropriate times
Throw in a whilfloc tablet and whirpool near the end of a 60 minute, or so, boil
Put the hot sweet wort into your sanitised cube.
Clean up the mess.

Now that almost made me want to go out and buy a mash tun

Just went for a walk round the block now I'm back to reality

:blink:

BribieG to the rescue
Welcome back to the fold Brau.....
Weren't there two of you>>>>>
I haven't brewed since March.
It is like riding a bike Bar the lot of cleaning and sanitising and organising and you know the drill
Have fun

Now that almost made me want to go out and buy a mash tun

Just went for a walk round the block now I'm back to reality

:blink:

:lol: :lol: :lol:

Frau,
Easy as it's like riding a bike. At first you'll be a little wobbly but then after a short amount of time there will no stopping you and you'll be popping wheelies, doing brakies, bunny hopping...

Now that almost made me want to go out and buy a mash tun...
:icon_offtopic:

Nah! adding 2 extra pots to a BIABer would only confuse the poor buggers? Have them running around in circles yelling "WHICH ONE MY IS POT? CAN ANYONE TELL ME? WHICH ONE DO I BOIL MY GRAINS IN?" :ph34r:

welcome back braufrau. I'm sure you haven't forgotten that much, you'll be back up and running in no time

and chappo BIABers have multiple pots - 1 to put the grains in, 1 to put on their head and another to **** in :p

welcome back braufrau. I'm sure you haven't forgotten that much, you'll be back up and running in no time

and chappo BIABers have multiple pots - 1 to put the grains in, 1 to put on their head and another to **** in :p

you guys are so funny!

a few things have chnaged in the brewing world whilst you were away braufrau.

once you've finished fermenting you now have to send sample to: me, chappo, KT and Maple. (and to anyone else ive forgotten) :lol:

edit: so as KT asked, whats on the cards for first brew back?

a few things have chnaged in the brewing world whilst you were away braufrau.

once you've finished fermenting you now have to send sample to: me, chappo, KT and Maple. (and to anyone else ive forgotten) :lol:

edit: so as KT asked, whats on the cards for first brew back?

mmmmm Actually Braufrau just ignore Chappo!

"At first you'll be a little wobbly---"

Chappo thats like Tanner making unkind refferences to Billy Brownless in the house during question time.

I trust you intend making good on your unkind comment like Tanner had to on the Footy Show last night.

Wobbly

+1 CM2

Just don't do what Katie did and pour it directly into the post pack... Postie keeps putting damn straw holes in every parcel I receive now <_<

mmmmm Actually Braufrau just ignore Chappo!

:ph34r: (Tehehehehe! I'm gunna get BribieG to bite one of these days? He is much more ellusive to catch than Katie)

damn, 5 months! I haven't brewed for 5 weeks and already I am suffering withdrawal symptoms not unlike those that could afflict me if I didn't brew for another 5 weeks!

The thing that's bugging me is I never figured out how to get the strike temp. right with my esky mash tun and then I discovered the thermometer was bung. So I guess all that means is I'm back to square one with the experimenting.
Poor old HWMBO is making his way through 60 stubbies of headless dubbel. Tastes nice though, but it undermines my confidence. :(

The recipe is "IPA for maturing while in Munich and drinking in the summer", aka "what the heck hops have I got left in the fridge?"

Here's the recipe ...

Recipe: IPA
Style: English IPA

Recipe Specifications
--------------------------
Batch Size: 23.00 L
Boil Size: 27.01 L
Estimated OG: 1.062 SG
Estimated Color: 23.8 EBC
Estimated IBU: 50.8 IBU
Brewhouse Efficiency: 75.00 %
Boil Time: 60 Minutes

------------
Amount Item Type % or IBU
5.25 kg Pale Malt, Maris Otter (Thomas Fawcett) (5Grain 85.92 %
0.23 kg Caraamber (59.1 EBC) Grain 3.76 %
0.23 kg Crystal Pale (Bairds) (110.0 EBC) Grain 3.76 %
0.23 kg Wheat Malt (Barrett Burston) (3.0 EBC) Grain 3.76 %
0.17 kg Crystal Dark (Bairds) (260.0 EBC) Grain 2.78 %
9.00 gm Simcoe [13.00 %] (60 min) Hops 11.4 IBU
25.00 gm Target [9.50 %] (60 min) Hops 23.1 IBU
10.00 gm Nelson Sauvin [12.00 %] (60 min) Hops 11.7 IBU
27.00 gm Goldings, East Kent [5.00 %] (10 min) Hops 4.8 IBU
43.00 gm Goldings, East Kent [5.00 %] (0 min) (AroHops -

Unlike the 3 vessle folks we put the bags in the pot not over our heads...

Good luck with the upcoming brew brau

Tom

Brewing is very simple.

1. get grain
2 get yeast
3. get hops
4. make beer using some water.

Get back on the horse.

I'm sure you're right guys .. or at least I was sure you were right until i woke up this morning intent on making slants and I have no auto-clavable tubes! And how the heck do I make slants anyway? something to do with agar i remember.
I guess I can go to the chemist and get some pee pots, worse comes to worst. I'm such a ditz!