How Many Of Us Does This Describe?

Be honest.......

• Yes

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • No

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

On Andre the Giant...
andre_ins.jpg

Modern Drunkard is the biz. Thanks for the intro Incider! :beer:

FWIW - whoever thought HFA was worthy of even thinking about has some issues to deal with. I'll drink through mine!

1. Drinking Patterns
When they have one drink, they experience a craving to have more and cannot predict what their alcohol intake will be. Can anyone?
They obsess about the next time they will be able to drink alcohol. Sometimes.
They behave in ways that are not characteristic of themselves while drunk and continue to repeat these unwanted behaviours and patterns. That doesn't sound like me.
Surround themselves socially with heavy drinkers. Define "heavy".
Getting drunk before actually arriving at parties/bars (pre-partying). For sure.
Setting drinking limits (i.e., only having 3 drinks, only drinking 3 days per week) and not being able to adhere to them. Nope, I don't set limits like that.
Driving drunk and not getting arrested or involved in an accident. I'd prefer not to think about this one but I'm getting better.
Always having to finish an alcoholic beverage or even another person's unfinished beverage. I don't brew beer to throw it on the lawn.
Using alcohol as a reward. Well if someone helps me move house it would be wrong not to give them some beer.
Drinking daily or binge drinking (more than 5 drinks in one sitting) on weekends. Yep.
Having blackouts (memory lapse due to excessive drinking) and not remembering what they did for a portion of their drinking episode. If I can't remember it then it didn't happen.
Feeling guilt and shame about their drunken behaviours. Never!
Taking breaks from drinking and then increasing alcohol consumption when they resume drinking after a period of time. Nope, no breaks here.
Engaging in risky sexual behaviour when intoxicated. Define "risky".
Not being able to imagine their life without alcohol in it. I'd prefer not to think about it.

2. Denial
Have difficulty viewing themselves as alcoholics because they don't fit the stereotypical image and because they feel their lives are manageable. Alcoholics go to meetings. I'm a drinker, not an alcoholic.
Avoid recovery help. Avoid what?
Make excuses for drinking by using alcohol as a reward or to relieve stress. No excuses here.

3. Professional and Personal Life:
Well respected for job/academic performance and accomplishments. Nope, that's definitely not me.
Can maintain a social life and intimate relationships. To an extent.
Surround themselves with people who drink heavily. Again, define "heavy".

4. "Double Life":
Appear to the outside world to be managing life well. Nope.
Skilled at living a compartmentalised life (i.e., separating professional, personal, and drinking lives). Doesn't sound like me.

5. Hitting Bottom:
Experience few tangible losses and consequences from their drinking, often by sheer luck. Now we're talking.
Experience recurrent thoughts that because they have not "lost everything," they have not hit bottom. Sure.
Often hit bottom and are unable to recognise it. If this is bottom then I'm a happy man.

I figure that I'm doing OK, I managed to fix the typos from the original post. Seriously, someone is spelling behaviour without a "u" & suggesting that other people have problems. Is that another stupid american way to spell a word wrong?

In unrelated news, I haven't had a ciggie since Saturday so I reckon I'm going to have 8 pints to celebrate.

Bullshit!! You had one last night!! :lol:

And as for "Alcoholics go to meetings... I'm a drinker, not an alcoholic..."

Meetings :p

Was a great night by the way Hatch. Appreciate it!

Bullshit!! You had one last night!! :lol:

And as for "Alcoholics go to meetings... I'm a drinker, not an alcoholic..."

Meetings :p

Was a great night by the way Hatch. Appreciate it!

Shh. Those weren't cigarettes. That's a different thread entirely.

& that wasn't going to a "meeting", that was hosting a "meeting".

I generally don't drink on weeknights, except Fridays. Only time I might drink is if we have visitors or are visiting, then it'll only be 1-2 stubbies. I don't obsess about when I'll have the next drink, but have been obsessing about when I can brew the next drinks. On big sessions I've been quite lucky (or maybe it's unlucky) that I don't suffer from blackouts/memory losses.

I do try to engage in risky sexual behaviour, but don't need to be intoxicated, and generally get knocked back ;)

Try going ugly early.

**** i answered yes to almost all of the questions, curently have Not had a drink for 4 weeks though... Trying to get past feb Without touching an alcoholic beverage as part of a pact of sorts with a mate, maybe we are both trying to prove to ourselves that we dont need a drink, but to be honest all i ******* want is a beer after work...

Bill hicks:

My final point about alchohol, about drugs, about Pornography...What business is it of your's what I do, read, buy, see or take into my body as long as I don't harm another human being whilst on this planet? And for those of you having a little moral dilemna on how to answer this, I'll answer for you. NONE OF YOUR ******* BUSINESS Take that to the bank, cash it and take it on a vacation outta my ******* life.

Says it well...
He died at the age of 33, didn't he? Seemed to be generally pretty miserable too.

Just sayin'.

My final point about alchohol, about drugs, about Pornography...What business is it of your's what I do, read, buy, see or take into my body as long as I don't harm another human being whilst on this planet? And for those of you having a little moral dilemna on how to answer this, I'll answer for you. NONE OF YOUR ******* BUSINESS Take that to the bank, cash it and take it on a vacation outta my ******* life.

The problem with that whole statement is not the direct harm the drugs, alcohol and pornography have, it's the indirect harm.

The good ones are... :ph34r: NEVER trust a skinny chef.

must have been pretty bad to work in all those 1,2,3 hat venues......mine you it was the diet of coffee and Beer.
you only get fat when you leave the kitchen and no longer do 100 hr weeks...sounds like a healthy mix really alcohol/lots of coffee/eating badly/long hours/playing with sharp cutty things and heavy machinery...no wonder the chef is always pissed off and needs a drink.

i will say 2 things

Yes.... most likely i am as per described.

and

Suck my hairy balls you wowser "anything other than yourselves is bad" fuckheads............ im happy with my life and i will do what i want!!!

you have to die of something........ I will die happy with a beer in my hand :)

I could write up all sorts of crap based on my personal beliefs of different social and religious groups........ but it would only ever amount to my opinion in the end.

Watch the vid....... its how i feel on this topic!

I would like to express my unreserved agreement for the above opinion *hick*

The problem with that whole statement is not the direct harm the drugs, alcohol and pornography have, it's the indirect harm.

I totally agree with this. But I also hope anyone who uses that Bill Hicks phrase, is smart enough to.....

The good ones are... :ph34r: NEVER trust a skinny chef.
must have been pretty bad to work in all those 1,2,3 hat venues......mine you it was the diet of coffee and Beer.
you only get fat when you leave the kitchen and no longer do 100 hr weeks...sounds like a healthy mix really alcohol/lots of coffee/eating badly/long hours/playing with sharp cutty things and heavy machinery...no wonder the chef is always pissed off and needs a drink.
No offense implied, just my general tendency to prefer a chef who likes what he makes and likes to eat good food. 'Skinny chef' doesn't produce that image for me (even if 15 hours a day every day of a week may counteract everything). Don't mind me, I'm being stereotypical, but on the other hand, the fact that you don't see Hungry Jacks employees leaving with food is quite telling.

1. Drinking Patterns
When they have one drink, they experience a craving to have more and cannot predict what their alcohol intake will be.
They obsess about the next time they will be able to brew alcohol.
They create beers that are not characteristic of the BJCP style they are aiming for while brewing and continue to repeat these unwanted styles and patterns.
Surround themselves socially with brewing forums.
Getting drunk before actually doughing in .
Setting batch limits (i.e., only having 3 kegs on the go, only brewing 3 days per week) and not being able to adhere to them.
Driving spouses to drink and not getting arrested or involved in an accident.
Always having to finish an alcoholic beverage despite the low cost of a home bevvy.
Using comp wins as a reward.
Drinking daily or binge drinking (more than 5 drinks in one sitting) on weekends in order to clear a keg for the next batch
Having blackouts (memory lapse due to losing brew log book) and not remembering what the hell hops went into that Yorkie.
Feeling guilt and shame about their last minicomp ranking.
Taking breaks from brewing and then increasing batch production when they resume brewing after a period of time.
Engaging in risky sexual behavior with goats in particular when intoxicated.
Not being able to imagine their life without beer and brewing in it

2. Denial
Have difficulty viewing themselves as commercial beer consumers
Avoid Public bars unless serving craft beers.
Make excuses for drinking by claiming beer appreciation to assist recipe formulation

3. Professional and Personal Life:
Well respected for job/academic performance and accomplishments and bringing in bottles for a chosen few in the office
Can maintain a social life and intimate relationships.
Surround themselves with people who brew heavily

4. "Double Life":
Appear to the outside world to be managing life well.
Skilled at living a compartmentalized life (i.e., separating professional, personal, and brewing lives)

5. Hitting Bottom:
Experience few tangible losses and consequences from their drinking, nearly always by sheer luck.
Experience recurrent thoughts that because they have not lost the last comp there is still the chance of a 45 point win.
Often get diacetyl and are unable to recognize it

Yup, I only drink because I need to empty enough bottles for my next brew, so surely I don't count as an HFA.

I obsess more about the brewing than the drinking.

But the more I brew the more I have to drink... :icon_cheers:

Just focus on the functional part. As long as I'm a functional alcoholic, I don't care.

Is risky sexual behaviour doing it on the wing of an aircraft at 30,000 feet?

Or doing it in the middle of the battle ground in Afghanistan?

I obsess more about the brewing than the drinking.

But the more I brew the more I have to drink... :icon_cheers:

This describes me as well, I brew a bunch and think about how Im going to get through all this beer so that I can brew some more. Most times I just buy more bottles though. Been brewing for just over 2 months and have around 83 litres of beer and cider lying around. Thats after getting people to help me drink it some :p
But my latest batch is for a friend, so that does count right?... right?

I suppose it depends on what stage of life you are at.

Years ago doing it on the couch at my girlfriends place while her parents were in bed seemed risky enough.... Particularily that time her grandfather stayed over and walked past us with his torch on the way to the toilet!! :blink:

Is risky sexual behaviour doing it on the wing of an aircraft at 30,000 feet?

Or doing it in the middle of the battle ground in Afghanistan?

I voted yes, as most of those Q's wrought true. I fear a prolonged period without beer, it's not something I would look forward to or encourage so by that definition, HFA I am. I also think it's not a great idea to think that just because everyone else seems to be the same, that it's OK.

My personality seems to dictate black or white, all in or all out. So I know when it comes time to give it up, I'll probably end up a complete tee-totaller.

Interesting thoughts!

Cheers - Mike