How Do I Tell How Fresh A "fresh Wort Kit"is?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Thanks 4 that. And $40 including saf yeast would be good value compared to some I`ve seen.

staggalee.

What would be an average cost to make the same beer myself assuming I bought everything for it at a sensible price and there was no freight costs involved?

staggalee.

Including the cube & sticker?

:p

Just a thought to Scotty
Is there no other way to pack a FWK. Something like a wine bladder in a cardboard box seems to me a way to transport this stuff around. I have no experience in this field at all but I guess a bladder would be cheaper. Just a thought.

Always happy to look at options, and I know Mel @ ESB and Coopers did the bag in a box type many moons ago. The cubes are, as a former salesman of 64 bit computing would say, 'reliable and redundant.'

They are hardy (i.e. can be dropped and kicked across a warehouse floor), easy to handle (they have a handle) and are made to stack. I have looked at bag in a box for a consult customer who wants Real Ale Sydney-wide and the cost just leapt out. There are many Real Ale guys doing a bag in a box in the UK, but with freight the $$'s came out to $11 a box compared to about $5.

In the early days before i used pallet strapping, I had a pallet ship North that seemed to rock n' roll around a truck. Even with being belted the cube survived, a beer maker enjoyed a kit slightly worse for wear but none the less not damaged.

But I am still perplexed by some in this thread. All wort packs are mash brewed regardless of the supplier. I am horribly vacant at the thought that they are a 'close' equivalent - they are f*&ing mash brewed! Are we talking about the length of a fleas penis here???? HeyJus give me strength.

Scotty