Help! Sulphur In Bottled Lager

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

user3673

Reaction score
Firstly sorry if this question has already been answered, I've looked but can't find one.

I recently did a brew with a XXXX kit and liquid light extract, with some cluster pellets(15 min and dry hopped @ rack) which i think were very old by the smell (They had a comp on to win origin tickets if i bought the kit and i had a rewards voucher so it cost me next to nothing).

I have never done a lager before as i live in Brissie.

I used s-23 and brewed @ around 11C.
I didn't do a diacetyl rest, and bottle after the brew sitting at 18 for about 6 hours.

I cracked a bottle open and it still has a strong sulphur smell and kind of a stale hop smell. My question is will this do away with age or would i be better dumping it and using the bottles for a nice AG APA?

Thanks

Scottie

how long was it in the primary and secondary for?
that sulphur smell should go away with age

It might be an idea to wait even longer for it to bottle condition.
I had a pilsner using a White Labs lager yeast that took the best part of 3 months to be rid of the sulfur. Was well worth the wait though.

Hi,

I did 2 Fresh Wort Pliseners last year with the WLP 802 Czech Budejovice yeast at 11c for 2 weeks, diacetyl rest for 3 days at 18c, then lagered for 1-2 months, then bottled. These beers still had a sulphur smell at 6-8 weeks in the bottle... but at 3 months they were amazingly good... the best "kit" I'd ever brewed. I have my first 2 AG Pilseners with the same yeast lagering away and its rather frustrating knowing that I'm still probably 2-3 months away before they hit their peak.