Hefe Weizen

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rude

Reaction score
Doing a wheat for xmas with a wyeast 3068, its my first attempt at a wheat AG

It was Hughman 666 western wheat recipe from the DB

The brew day went well 78% efficiency 14 IBU with Hallertauer 6.3%b , into the ( son of fermenter chiller ) a bit warm after no chilling the day before , 22c but soon came down to 18c ( after 12 hours of work checked when I got home )

Had 25 litres in a 30 litre fermenter & it went through the top for 2 days

Its been 5 days now Im not going to rack just rack for bulk primming as I bottle

The question is how long should I keep it in primary I was thinking 10 days as long as the gravity readings are good then 2 weeks in the bottle & it should be good for chrisie

What do other people do for their wheat beers , what are youre experiences cheers all

My recent hefe just stayed in primary until it was ready to bottle (stable gravity readings etc). I rack to secondary and cold condition most of my brews but this was an exception. Number of weeks is irrelevant. Numbers on the hydrometer is what you are looking for.

So Mants how long did youres take in primary

From memory a couple of weeks. She dropped lower than expected - I think around 1008 and I left her there to make sure she'd finished for a couple of days.

I left mine in Primary for 11 day but then I think I bottled a little early because it carbed up in a few days.
Funny thing is now I don't think it has enough carbination for a Hefeweizen from what I have been reading lately.
But it does taste very good and packs a wallop.

I'm drinking a german wheat beer atm.

I don't rack. And left it on primary for a month.

Very bloody tasty! Bananas even :icon_drool2:

mebbe :icon_offtopic: