Harvesting commercial yeast and pitching correct amount.

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

eMPTy

Reaction score
Hey guys,

So there are plenty of threads both here and elsewhere covering pitching sufficient viable yeast to a new beer for many obvious reasons.

What I could not find much on however was estimating the viability or cell count of yeast harvested from commercial bottle dregs. I've never tried harvesting yeast before and am having a bit of a go with it, possibly with an eye on using it in my next brew. Only thing is, this is a belgian style yeast and i'm looking at potentially pitching into a high OG. I realise that'll mean a large starter, what I have no ability to estimate is how large given I cannot accurately estimate yeast viability or original cell count.

Any assistance or thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Can you be sure the yeast in the bottle is the yeast used to actually ferment the beer??
Some Breweries use a different yeast to bottle condition their beer.
Also if the beer you are harvesting the yeast from is a high Alcohol beer the yeast, even if it is the original yeast, may well be stuffed and not viable to reculture.

These are some of the unknowns in trying to reculture yeast.

gap said:
Can you be sure the yeast in the bottle is the yeast used to actually ferment the beer??
Some Breweries use a different yeast to bottle condition their beer.
Also if the beer you are harvesting the yeast from is a high Alcohol beer the yeast, even if it is the original yeast, may well be stuffed and not viable to reculture.

These are some of the unknowns in trying to reculture yeast.
As far as i am aware it is the correct strain, although i am not sure i have found 100% confirmation. It is a La Trappe yeast.