From high above the Melbourne CBD

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jim Morishita

Reaction score
Hi AHB,

I've been scouring this forum for hints and tips for many years now, but thought it time to register and say hi now I've put down my first brew on Aussie soil.

I shift around a fair bit for work and am now on my 4th 'brewery', the new place is on the small side BUT this time I have a fantastic gas kitchen, with a stovetop that easily accomodates 2x 19l pots side by side two burners a piece so I'm finally planning to upgrade from kits and bits to full grain brew in a bag. It helps that there are some great home brew shops in my new home of Melbourne too. Currently in the process of belting out a few (3x 20l) summer quaffing kit based brews, then as soon as I find a cheap conical burr coffee grinder on Gumtree I'm planning on ordering a sack of Golden Promise (I love Epic Pale Ale!) and getting down to business by following some of the excellent how-to BIAB posts on this site.

The final step is to get some hops growing on the apartment balcony, so if anybody can spare a hop rhizome in Melbourne then please let me know!

One of the perks of living in an aprtment in the CBD is I've already filled my laundry with quality reusable Coopers longnecks and could fill it again easily come next recycling day.

Favourite craft beer would be one of Dunedin's own Emersons Brewers Reserve one-offs - probably the Imperial Pils or the Beervana winning Emersons Wheat Wine.