First ever attempt

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pauls51

Reaction score
WARNING: Extreme Beginner here!

So after plenty of reading I took the plunge and purchased a homebrew kit from my LHBS (Brewers Den). After considering how badly I sucked at science back at school, I thought i'd be best to stick to a basic brew so went with the Coopers draught.

I tried to get fancy by "rehydrating" the yeast and failed at that, so after 20 minutes of not seeing anything happen I poured it into the fermenter and gave it a stir. Took an OG reading of 1040 and kept the brew in the laundry at a steady 16 - 18 degrees.

Had a mates wedding on the weekend and managed to score 80 carlton draught long necks (feeling pretty ordinary about that now that I have read about bottle capping twist off bottles) so spent yesterday bottling the brew (after seeing 2 consecutive days of the same reading - 1010 ) using carbonation drops.

So now I have my brew, wrapped in a blanket inside my laundry for the next 7 days before I move it to my garage where it is much cooler.. Is there anything I should be doing during this period to get the best out of the brew? Or is it set and forget?

I visited G&G over the weekend and picked up a ready to go American IPA and some Ale dry yeast. (I figured i should do a couple more brews before I start playing with hops, grains et al. ) I am wanting to attempt rehydrating the yeast again - What is the best way to do this or should I just sprinkle inside the fermenter? Also I'm lead to believe that fermentation will take alot longer with this brew - does that sound right?

Thanks all!

I always rehydrate my yeast and very rarely 'see' something happen.
The point of it is to wake the yeast up from their dormant (dry) state before chucking them in the deep end.