Fermentation Temperature

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Davo6869

Reaction score
I remember that word from high school science. (I'm now a criminal lawyer)

I have been noticing that my ale yeast batches appear to be warmer than the ambient temperature in the garage. This could be because;

1. fermentation itself produces warmth (exothermic?) and therefore it is perfectly normal for this to be the case, or

2. my thermomenter is crap and needs replacing.

Anyone noticed this phenomena?

I'm hoping that fermentation does produce a little warmth as current temps are perfect for ales and it bodes well for weekly batches of liquid love.

I remember that word from high school science. (I'm now a criminal lawyer)

I have been noticing that my ale yeast batches appear to be warmer than the ambient temperature in the garage. This could be because;

1. fermentation itself produces warmth (exothermic?) and therefore it is perfectly normal for this to be the case, or

2. my thermomenter is crap and needs replacing.

Anyone noticed this phenomena?

I'm hoping that fermentation does produce a little warmth as current temps are perfect for ales and it bodes well for weekly batches of liquid love.

I am pretty new to this myself, but from what I have read and observed from my own initial brews, the initial part of the fermentation when the yeast is super active certainly does generate heat.

I have found that it does drop down after a few days, at which time you may need to watch and control your temperatures if it falls lower than you want.

So yeah... it is exothermic.

Cheers,

Brendo

Your observations agree with mine as well. Alot of people on here use 'thermowells' to get the thermometer probe in the middle of the wort and the temp will generally be 1-2degs above ambient.