Fan In Chest Fridge Setup

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

woodmac66

Reaction score
Hi Guys,
This is my first post and I am new to this great hobby or passion.
I have just recently set up my freezer with 4 kegs and used the fridgemate for temperature control.
I see most use computer fans for circulation 12V.
Are they the best option as i would have thought with moisture they wouldn't last long?
If so I already have one and do you wire them to run constantly and how long do they last?

Thanks for all the ideas on this site and I have to ay it makes it a lot easier for newbies like me!

Woody

hey mate, welcome to ahb!

I've had mine, a normal computer fan, running constantly for about 8 months now. No problems at all.

A tub of damprid does a good job at pulling out the moisture and you only really fog up when you open the lid and allow air in.

My fans are running 24/7 and no problems at all.

I run mine 24/7 as well.

I have about 5 old busted computers sitting around so a new fan isn't that big of a deal. And when they do let go its not the end of the world, usually make alot noise first. Just grab another one, computer shops should sell them for $10 or less.

Mine is set up to run when the compressor kicks in, so the temperature gets read at the top of the kegerator (where the collar is), then the fan will come on and blow the hot air down to get it swirling, I find that this evens the temperature out nicely, no layering of air.

Crundle

I got an electrical cabnet fan from DICKSMITH,its 240v moisture resistant, think it was about $20,its wired into the frigmate freezer side and only runs when freezer comes on.I went for 240v because of the hastle of getting a computer power source to run the computer fans[they run a 3 phase brushless motor=3 motor wires 12v]
Russ

Thanks guys that helps heaps.