Electric element heat up time.

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MitchD

Reaction score
To start with im an electrician so elecrrically anything is possible.

Im about to be kicked out of the kitchen and into the garage for my brewing, so I need to add an element to my 36l pot.

As power consumption isn't an issue I'm thinking bigger is better ie a camco 4500w element. Is this too big? I do hate waiting for water to hit strike temp then after mash to reach a good strong boil.

What imput I would like is what size element and pot combination are other brewers using and what is the warm up time like

For warm up times you can have a play with the calc on my website, under homebrew/calculators/water heating. To give you an idea, 25L from 20c to 65c (45c diff), using 4500w = 17mins.

For the boil 4500w will be too strong for the small pot. You can either use two smaller elements and switch one off once you hit the boil, or build a voltage controller. Here's one I use. Then you can simply dial back the heat to your desired boil level.

For my 1V I use a 2,000w element as it shares a standard 10amp GPO with the pump and controller. Using a 50L pot for a 28L final vol batch it can get to a boil, but I did need a lot of insulation. It is also slowish to get from mashout to the boil, so often I throw in an over the side immersion element (2400w) to get it there quicker. Once I get tot the boil I turn off the immersion element. I think a 3600w element would be heaps, but I think you would still need the voltage controller. The voltage controller is cheap to build with most parts on ebay.

On my 3V I only use 6,000w in the kettle and I can make up to a 112L final vol batch. But I would like some more power.