Comet and Pale Malt.

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Stouter

Reaction score
Guys I've got 100g of Comet hops and want to make something tonight. Got on hand plenty of Pale Malts(Maris, BB, GP) with a smattering of Vienna, CaraAroma, flaked barley.
Would the Comet variety carry enough for a Bitter style? Reading up it suggests that it's a bittering hop.

Just keep it simple and smash beer.

100% MO to 5%
Comet to 35ibu

60m - 12 ibu
10m - 20 ibu
WP/hopstand for 15 mins - 3ibu
Dry hop with 2gL

Thanks for the feedback. I started playing around with Brewers Friend and thew in some info based on what was recommended plus a little something something and bang;

Original Gravity:

Final Gravity:

ABV (standard):
5.59%

IBU (tinseth):

SRM (morey):

Fermentables

Amount

Fermentable

PPG

°L

Bill %

4.5 kg

United Kingdom - Maris Otter Pale

93.8%

0.3 kg

German - CaraAroma

6.3%

4.8 kg

Total

Hops

Amount

Variety

Type

AA

Use

Time

IBU

15 g

Comet

Pellet

Boil

60 min

20 g

Comet

Pellet

Boil

40 min

10 g

Comet

Pellet

Dry Hop

5 days

Hops Summary

Amount

Variety

Type

AA

45 g

Comet

Pellet

Mash Guidelines

Amount

Description

Type

Temp

Time

35 L

Temperature

67 C

60 min

Yeast

Mangrove Jack - Workhorse Beer Yeast M10

Attenuation (avg):

78%

Flocculation:

Medium

Optimum Temp:

15 - 20 °C

Starter:

No

Fermentation Temp:

20 °C

Pitch Rate:

-

That sounds nice, Pratty1. At this time of the year, I'd probably drop the grain bill to target about 3.5% ABV and mash to reduce the fermentability slightly. It's easy enough to put away a couple of litres of something like this in an afternoon in this heat, but you still want to be able to stand up later in the night.

peteru said: