Cloudy Beer

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

carl_p

Reaction score
Hi all, Im very new to HB so please excuse me. Im up to my third brew using a standard
brewing kit all is going well and the beer tastes great the only problem I am experiencing
is my beer is cloudy. It spent 2 weeks in the fermenter and 4 weeks since being bottled
any help with this would be greatly appriciated.

Gidday. You will be venturing into gelatine and polyclar and cold conditioning to clear your beers. I brew for 2 weeks then rack to another vessel and fridge that for 4 days. Then I add Gelatine for 5 days then I add polyclar for 3 days then bottle. Clear as beer.

Search here for:
Gelatine
Polyclar and
cold conditioning.

If you go the above way you won't be dissapointed :)

Edit: I should of mentioned the Polyclar gets rid of CHILL HAZE and Gelatine gets rid of excess yeast and other crap left behind after fermentation...... if I'm not incorrect :)
Cold conditioning helps the two previous mentioned methods a great deal. Bonus of cold conditioning at 2 or 3 deg is that the beer mellows more and is better for it.

I think a simpler answer for the newbie is in order.

The simplest thing you can do to get clearer bottle conditioned beer, is to put it in the fridge. Not for a few hours before you drink it, but as soon as there is any room in there. The longer it stays in the fridge, the more stuff sinks to the bottom and the more firmly it sticks there - you want it in there for a good week or two, so shove all of it in the fridge as soon as you are able. That'll help considerably.