Cider Advice Requested

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DJbrewer

Reaction score
hello all!

I am new to brewing and have decided to start with a cider (My wife and I are not big beer drinkers). I have the Coopers kit.
I was hoping for some advice.

First I was thinking of using the Black Rock Cider kit and add some spices but then thought, "Heh! Why not go "almost first principles" and brew from apple juice."

Two questions I have are:
1. how long does it take to go from start to drinking? I hope to get get it started tomorrow night (28 April) and start drinking on about 20 June. That is about 7-8 weeks from mixing ingredients to drinking. Is that reasonable?

2. I have read that champagne yeast produces a very dry cider. I would like to produce a cider that is not too dry but not too sweet, either. Any tips on getting that mix? My thoughts on the ingredients are:

Option 1:
12 L apple juice (berri, no preservatives)
7 L apple/pear juice (berri, no preservatives)
Wyeast 4766 (1 pack)
5g Yeast nutrient
500g white sugar
500g brown sugar (to give some body and it is not as sweet as white sugar)
1 lemon (peeled and sliced)
1 stick cinnamon
6 cloves
50g ginger

The sliced lemon will just left in a cheescloth in the fermenter.

With the ginger, cinnamon and cloves added to dissolved sugar at 100 degrees C for about 5-10 minutes, and then strained out. I assume you do not leave the ginger/cinnamon/cloves in the fermenter whilst the cider is fermenting ?

Option 2: Black Rock Cider
7 L apple juice (berri, no preservatives)
2.4 L apple/pear juice (berri, no preservatives)
Water (to make up to 18L)
Wyeast 4766 (1 pack)
5g Yeast nutrient
500g white sugar
500g brown sugar (to give some body and it is not as sweet as white sugar)
1 lemon (peeled and sliced)
1 stick cinnamon
6 cloves
50g ginger

Options 3 and 4: