Chillie/ginger Lager

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GrumpyPaul

Reaction score
Hi all

I am still very new to home brewing but I am loving it. Still not confident enough to try the whole mash thing yet - so I have been playing with can/kit recipes I have found on various forums.

I did a batch of the Chillie Ginger beer and it was great.
And found a Honey Ginger Lager recipe that sound like it would be good

I was thinking of a hybrid of the two to make a chillie ginger lager. I still want it to taste like a beer but with a hint of Ginger and a subtle bite of the Chillie.

If I do the following will it work - just taste like crap.

Chillie Ginger Lager
Makes 23 Litres.

Ingredients:

o 1Can of Lager
o 4 fresh red chillies
o 100 g grated ginger.
o Saflager S-23 Yeast

Directions:

1. Cut up Chillies and grate the ginger. Boil in 1ltr water for 20mins
1. Make as you would a normal kit beer, adding the chillie and ginger mix directly to the wort.
3. Finish brew as a normal kit beer.

Any thoughts or ideas on if this will work or how I should modify this to make it work would be greatly appreciate

A couple quick thoughts:

Seems very light on for fermentables - are you aiming for a light beer?
Depending on the tin I reckon 100g of ginger will come across as more of an off-flavour in the background rather than an actual flavour you find up-front.
Way too much chilli for the "subtle bite" you say you're after. I put 2 in my last ginger beer and you can feel it burn you lips a little. I once put 5 in and it was way too much to have a session on.
For the boil I'd up both the volume and time.
I made a straight GB with S23 once and now prefer an ale yeast but it was certainly not a terrible beer. Should work a bit better in a real beer with ginger though. Don't forget to pitch 2 packs.