Carbonating kegs?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kronic

Reaction score
Hi all,
When force carbonating what kpa should I set my gauge at and for how long? The last one I did came out way over carbonated. I left it on for two days as I went away at 240 kpa. It sucked because I was looking foward to it when I got hm. I'm new to this and am looking for a little help. Do I pressurize and leave the gauge on for the time of carbonation or pressurise than turn co2 off??

Now here is something different. Think about priming your keg at the same rate as a bottle.Then.you only need pouring pressure.

Did you know that Coopers do this with there brewery kegs.

At this stage I know very little about this all. Are u talking about carbonating at low pressure for longer?? Or adding sugar for carbonation?

This is true. What type of sugar should I use and how much for a 19 ltr keg? I may look at trying this. Is it the same principle if I put it in a blue cube?

When i used to force carb i used to leave kegs in the fridge for two days at 50psi. Worked pretty well. Not as well as 7-8 days at serving pressure but fairly well.

I'm interested in hearing the methods of others too. I've read the "Ross Method" and would like something simpler. I can't roll my kegs it's too cramped near the fridge. Kronic I ended up with my guages set to about 250 kPa and giving them a shake every now and then but I was able to watch them fairly closely and if I went away for long I turned 'em down to 80 kPa.

punkin 50 PSI is about 340 kPa I think. (The conversion thingy is crapping on about "absolute pressure" which is a different (higher) number - I have NFI). That's higher than kronics overcarbed method.

I'm just trying to get a feel for this without overcarbing my beer and without making trips to the shed every hour to check...