Calculation of IBU additions after flame out (no chill/whirlpool)

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I had a read through it. Seems like the maths is pretty solid although it has been a few years since I studied differential calculus.
The numbers seem to follow accepted wisdom which, from what I can gather, is based on empirical evidence.

Thats awesome. Great work, love the application of science and maths! the difference between the lid on and lid off method was far grater than i expected. I reckon the extraction fan was the main culprit, drawing air over the top of your cooling wort.
Thanks heaps for doing this investigation. taking 5 minute readings for 2 hours must have been a pain!

Very interesting read, I would worry about cubing when the temp drops down to 80 c as you will get a further drop in temp on transfer and could run the risk of infection.

AndrewQLD said:
Very interesting read, I would worry about cubing when the temp drops down to 80 c as you will get a further drop in temp on transfer and could run the risk of infection.
Yeah, I actually brewed yesterday and began the transfer from the kettle to the cube after 22 min of cooling with the lid off. The temperature was still 85C (According to my equation it should have been 86C, so pretty close). I would not recommend transferring at 80C either. I will make my article clearer.

Alex.Tas said:
Thats awesome. Great work, love the application of science and maths! the difference between the lid on and lid off method was far grater than i expected. I reckon the extraction fan was the main culprit, drawing air over the top of your cooling wort.
Thanks heaps for doing this investigation. taking 5 minute readings for 2 hours must have been a pain!
Thanks mate, much appreciated. I reckon you are right about the extractor fan.