BIAB mashing, water to grain ratio?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

seehuusen

Reaction score
Hey guys,

I read through this tutorial: http://aussiehomebrewer.com/topic/55617-step-by-step-biab-lcba-clone/
In it, the OP uses about 4KG of grain, steeped 14L of water, plus 4L for the sparge. At the end he adjusts the OG to his desired OG by adding a bit of water.

I'm new to BIAB, and wanted to ask if the amount of litres used to mash matters? and if so in what way it matters?
Is there a sweet spot, did I read somewhere of about 3L of water per Kg of grain?

Thanks in advance,
Martin

Keep it simple. that's the whole point of BIAB. The technique was developed to provide a simple way to mash at full volume as needed.

If however, your vessel can't take the whole volume of water needed plus the grains, ie 40L Vessel, 5kg grains and 39L of water needed, then add in somewhere around 3L of water per kg of grain and after the mash stage, simply top up to full pre-boil volume as calculated by your brewing software.

Assume 1L of water loss to the grains after draining.

Once you've boiled and chilled, then it's simply a case of adjust your volume to meet your required gravity if you're slightly under the volume.

Hope this makes sense.

That said, if you took 100 BIAB brewers, they'll come up with about 80 different ways to achieve the same end result. None are necessarily wrong.

thank you very much for the explanation, makes perfect sense :icon_cheers:

Water to grain ratios really apply to traditional mashing techniques. The easiest way to do BIAB is full volume mashing, ie , no sparging.
Get yourself Brewmate or some other software and go from there.