Beer Appreciation

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kocken42

Reaction score
Hi AHB's

I'm currently studying a Bch. Science in winemaking and grapegrowing and as part of the course, the university has integrated a brewing unit. As part of the unit we did a sensory evaluation class where we tasted about 28 different beers, from the common international beers (Grolsch, Corona) all the way through to beers like Chimay. We tried a good majority of styles aswell, obviously restricted to what the bottle shop stocked (a pretty good bottleshop I must say).

Anyways, I have learnt that 85% of beer produced in Australia is produced by the big boys...and I dare say even if those big boys are producing a range of beers (dark ales, stouts) most people are still going the Aussie dry's and bitters.

During the sensory evaluation class, I noticed many people greatly enjoying beers (and enjoying the style) they had never tried before such as amber ales, dark ales, stouts, porters... everything. After the class and a few weeks later, talking to my class mates a few have reported of buying these 'new' styles of beer rather than just getting a carton of T.E.D's.

This got me to thinking...I think all Australians should enrol themselves in a beer appreciation class. There is a massive world of beer out there and most Aussies are closed minded, single style drinkers...but they are missing out. To be honest I have been a single style, light lager drinker for years...until I went to London and stumbled upon the 11th Annual Kingston beer festival...man I could really go a pump bitter beer right now! The beers on display were all excellent and really opened my mind.

Knowledge is power...beer knowledge is just freakin' awesome.