Aromatic Malt - Dingimans

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Smashin

Reaction score
Who else has used this malt.. I've made 2 brews with it to date a Dunkel Weizen with ~56% aromatic and a belgian dark strong ale with ~14% both brews have quite a harsh after taste that i could only describe as acrid/astringent. I couldn't imagine using this to 100% of the bill as they claim.

What are other ppls experience with this malt??

Who else has used this malt.. I've made 2 brews with it to date a Dunkel Weizen with ~56% aromatic and a belgian dark strong ale with ~14% both brews have quite a harsh after taste that i could only describe as acrid/astringent. I couldn't imagine using this to 100% of the bill as they claim.

I just brewed with some at the weekend. It's my first time using this grain. Only put 100g (3%) into an English Best Bitter. Give me a few weeks and I'll tell you what it tastes like.

If I were a betting man I'd wager that the "100%" claim is purely meant to indicate that it has enough diastatic power to convert itself. It's not saying that it would produce good beer.

Of course, I'm not a betting man...

that was in the back of my mind Peter. I aliken the flavour and aroma to a brew where I used peated malt. Not the best. Still interested to see what others note about this malt.

Mahony, i'd be interested to hear how your brew goes, 3% may be alright.

Pitty i bought 25kg of the stuff.

Smashin

I wonder if an extra zero has been added by mistake.

Rgds,
Peter

I've been using it at about 2.5-5% in quite a few beer recently, mainly with Halcyon as the base malt. The aroma that I've been getting from these beers has been quite amazing. I haven't had any astringency. Maybe use it as you would any other crystal malt?

James