Apricot.... Er... Cider?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tripsky

Reaction score
Hi all,

so I was waltzing around the shop the other day and they had a massive juice sale - and sitting on the shelf was massive bottles of preservative free apricot juice. so I grabbed about 5L worth with the intent to brew some sort of apricot cider.

that's the plan anyway. has anyone here attempted this? advice?

some things to note - on closer inspection the juice is actually fruit drink! damn them! I had a look at the ingredients and it's mostly apple juice anyway.

so, i'm looking for advice on what yeast to use, when to bottle ... pretty much everything. I'm pretty new to brewing (brewing successfully, at least) so any tips would be welcome. best case scenario, i'd be looking for an end result something with a cider type feel, or alternatively something heavier, like a mead, that can be mixed with a bit of soda water or some such. you know, for the ladies. more on the sweet side than dry would be the preference as well.

cheers!

I would go a champagne / sparkly yeast and do a brew to about cask wine strength, and get some yeast nutrient from the LHBS. Do a hydro check with a sample to see what OG and how much sugar to add, then do the simple calc for alcohol yield, assuming that it's going to ferment out quite low gravity. It shouldn't take more than say 3 weeks to ferment out then maybe try lagering it in a cube in the fridge for another couple of weeks and bottle in PET. I've done something fairly similar with ginger beer and it turned out drinkable.
The thing about apricots is :

<historical quite useless information>