A Few Questions On Co2

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

xtrabyte

Reaction score
I am new to kegs and have a few questions on CO2. Should you hear liquid CO2 sloshing about in the cylinder when half full like LPG? How do you know when your CO2 cylinder is almost empty? What pressure should the regulator show and does the pressure of the cylinder drop when it is almost empty?

i know mine isnt empty yet, but im relying on the weight, i measured mine when i got it new (mkol) and it weighed in at 15.2kg... you will find a weight on the neck of the bottle stating its ?tare weight?, anway its the weight of the cylinder and is prolly somewhere around 8-9 for a mkol co2 tank. this is a good indication of how much co2 is in your bottle,

other than that i think there are strips you can get that also tell you?

cheers, clint

Don't think I've ever heard a CO2 or Argon or whatever bottle slosh, so I'm going to venture, No.
Cylinder is empty when there's no more left ;) , tank pressure guage will show nothing. Regulated pressure is what you want it to be, tank pressure is ~90-100psi when full and yes does diminish over time.

There should be a Tare and a Nett value stamped in your cylinder. Using these values, you can work out how much is left in your cylinder by weight.

So long as you do not have a gas leak, your CO2 cylinder from BOC, Air Liquide (D size) will last a long time, typically 12-18 months. Don't know about other sized bottles.

If you have a dual gauge regulator, the pressure in the gas cylinder will stay the same as long as there is liquid sloshing in the gas cylinder. Once you have used all the liquid up, only then, the pressure in your gas cylinder will start dropping. You will probably have enough pressure to dispense half a 19 litre cornie (no gassing up or burping.)