Wyeast 3724 Belgian Saison

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Canuckdownunder

Reaction score
Hey Everybody!
I'm thinking about doing a saison over Christmas in order to take advantage of the temps up here on the GC and I decided to use the Wyeast 3724 Belgian Saison. Has anybody ever used the this yeast? I've heard some stories of how it's a bit finicky but I thought since it's so hot in my home I'll have no problem hitting temperatures of 30c plus. Also I figured that since I'm pretty stocked for beer I can leave this for around a month in primary to really let the yeast attenuate.

Any recommendations? It's my first attempt at a saison and I'd love for it to come out in true summer thirst quenching style :chug:

Cheer,
Canuck.

I've got a Nelson Sauvin saison finishing off now with this yeast. I've got a temp controlled fridge so pitched at 18 degrees, left it 2 days then raised temp 1 degree per day until I got to 30 degrees and it's sat on that for nearly a week. Had no stalling issues at all. It's my first time with this yeast but keep it hot and you should be ok. It's down to 1.008 now but will see if it drops a few more points by the weekend. My hydrometer samples have tasted great.

I started at 25c on a simple Saison grain bill. It rocketed through ferment, getting to under 1.020 in a few days. I bumped it up to 34c after that and took it's time finishing off (5 weeks!) but it was worth the wait.

It was the best Belgian I have brewed and some people at the Brew Club said it beat any Aus micro example they'd had.

Good yeast.

Here's a crappy iPhone photo from a brew night in the shed. It was the clearest unfiltered beer I have brewed. The only finings were in the boil.

IMG_3541_zps33244dd8.jpg

Enjoy!

edit - added pic