Will I Have Problems With This Setup?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

timmyf

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm pretty new to the AG scene, i've done about 4 stovetop BIAB brews and now just upgraded equipment. I've just built a Mash-tun from a 40L techni-ice esky and also purchased a 40L urn to use as a HLT and Kettle.

My plan is either batch sparge or continuous sparge into a bucket (as the urn will be performing the role of a HLT at the time) then once the sparge is complete, tip the wort from the bucket into the urn for the boil.

Apart from being an annoyance and possibly scolding myself, does anyone know of any potential problems in doing this (oxidisation, etc...)?

Thanks
Tim

No real problems. Just get a good strong bucket which doesn't warp under high temps, put a tap at the bottom so you don't have to tip it into the HLT/Kettle, you can drain it. Some people go on about hot side aeration causing unwanted flavours, but I've never had a problem with the hot wort splashing around.

Drawbacks are
- it'll take longer as with a separate kettle you can start to heat up the 1st runnings straight away while you'll have to wait until the end of sparge before beginning the boil
- lifting the bucket of hot liquid (could use a pump which will remove that problem as also remove the splashing issue)

why don't you just go a "bucket of death" for the HLT and don't worry about the extra man handling the wort? you will need the extra bucket with the manual way anyway.

QldKev

i am trying to do what QLD Kev says.

I want to make a BOD, but first need to locate a 20-25L pail made from PP#5.

Apparrently that is what I want as it is meant to be good to 200 degrees C or whatever.

Anyone know if Bunnings stocks these?

Cheers,
D80