Why Did You Start Brewing? Can You Answer These Questions?

How long have you been home-brewing?

• less than 1 year?

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • more than 1 year?

• 1 - 5 years?

• 5+ years?

• Total voters
Can you help me out by answering all (or some) of the following questions? Any responses would be extremely helpful and your honesty and greatly appreciated!

1) What inspired you to start home-brewing? Why do you continue to home-brew? Was gifted a starter kit 16 or so years ago. Continue as long as I enjoy drinking my beers.
2) How did you go about finding the equipment? Gifted.
3) Was it hard to find the necessary equipment? No
4) Did you buy a starter kit or did you buy the equipment individually? Gifted
5) What's the best part about brewing? Anticipation, first taste of a new batch and it's good.
6) At what age did you start brewing? 23ish
7) How would you describe the home-brewing community in Melbourne, AUS? In your local community? Do you think it is growing? Melbourne seems good. Locally pretty quiet. Not growing locally.
8) How often do you brew during the year on average? Probably 15 - 20 times @ 50L per batch
9) Is there any type of equipment that you wish it would have been easier to find? 3V automated breweries, at a good price.
10) When you have a question about brewing or beer in general, where do you go for answers? AHB
11) Do you experiment making multiple types of beer - using a unique blend of ingredients - or just stick with the out-of-the-box recipes? How do you find out about unique recipes? experiment. Make my own recipes from scratch. All grain - no, out of boxes here.
12) Do you sometimes brew with other people? Rarely, but yes. Usually demonstrations for people moving from Kits to All grain.

Thanks for your help and input everyone!! Welcome

1) What inspired you to start home-brewing? Why do you continue to home-brew?
Got a kit as a gift. Enjoyed it, so kept doing it.

2) How did you go about finding the equipment?
Received initial lot as gift, equipment expanded via small purchases from local homebrew shop

3) Was it hard to find the necessary equipment?
Not at all.

4) Did you buy a starter kit or did you buy the equipment individually?
Starter kit.

5) What's the best part about brewing?
The satisfaction of tasting something great you made yourself.

6) At what age did you start brewing?

7) How would you describe the home-brewing community in Melbourne, AUS? In your local community? Do you think it is growing?
No idea, no idea, no idea. Online community is pretty good though.

8) How often do you brew during the year on average?
2011 - one so far
2010 - zero
2009 - about three or four times
2006, 2007, 2008 - about batches per year.

9) Is there any type of equipment that you wish it would have been easier to find?
AG bits and pieces

10) When you have a question about brewing or beer in general, where do you go for answers?
AHB!

11) Do you experiment making multiple types of beer - using a unique blend of ingredients - or just stick with the out-of-the-box recipes? How do you find out about unique recipes?
Unique receipes

12) Do you sometimes brew with other people?
Never

Never drank beer till I was around 23, started on VB and have not looked back, going from beer to beer to experience all flavours available

Original equipment supplied by a mate at his house, all other equip sourced from AHB links at top of forum page

No

All individually

Tasting a well made product and knowing it was done by my hands

7) How would you describe the home-brewing community in Melbourne, AUS? In your local community? Do you think it is growing?

Darwin, growing very slowly but supported by local OzBrew shop

around 15 a year

9) Is there any type of equipment that you wish it would have been easier to find?

nope, all easy to get

10) When you have a question about brewing or beer in general, where do you go for answers?

AHB forum generally

11) Do you experiment making multiple types of beer - using a unique blend of ingredients - or just stick with the out-of-the-box recipes? How do you find out about unique recipes?

50/50. Unique recipes from forums and magazines

All the time, no lone brewing for me ;)

I think you will find saving money is a reaccuring theme and probably should have included it in the poll.

Initially to save money. Also it seemed a fun and productive hobby I could share with my flatmate.

I continue to brew mainly because I love the process more then I love the beer, although the beer is a very nice bonus. The cost saving of home-brew really becomes redundant when you get into allgrain brewing, it is much cheaper but if you factor in time its a total rip off. If I charged myself minimum wage to brew beer it ends up over $50 a case.

Initially through talking to brew shops. After finding AHB i use the net a lot more.

Most things no once I found good internet sources.

Starter kit

Brew day, especially when you have a friend who knows what there doing helping. Nothing beats the discussion about what ingredients to put in.

Sydney, I don't spend much time with them except in here. It does seem to be growing though.

fortnightly

nope, sometimes the challenge of finding something special is part of the enjoyment.

Used to be the shop, then internet general, now here.

Every beer I make is unique. I generally guess what to put in based from experiance. I'll look up recipes online and then change them substantially.

Most of the time

1) What inspired you to start home-brewing? I was a poor uni student, living in a single parent household (and determined not to be a multi-generation welfare statistic), unable to afford beer.Why do you continue to home-brew? Because it's a good hobby that buys me some time out, appeals to my nerdiness and allows me creativity.
2) How did you go about finding the equipment? Bought a cheap kit from Big W initially. My AG BIAB kit is a case of researching AHB and going and buying it.
3) Was it hard to find the necessary equipment? No - Big W had most of it. Evilbay and bunnings the rest. Once I did the research, I knew what I needed, so it was a matter of going out and getting it.
4) Did you buy a starter kit or did you buy the equipment individually? Initially a starter kit, but the upgrade to AG BIAB is individual equipment.
5) What's the best part about brewing? Creativity and sharing good brew.
6) At what age did you start brewing? 18 - poor uni student, had to pay my way through everything, so it was the only way I could afford it.
7) How would you describe the home-brewing community in Melbourne, AUS? Don't live in Melbourne - most the MEL blokes here appear to be good sorts. In your local community? Don't attend brew meetings and the like, but I have met a couple as they own the brew shops I go to for ingredients, again they are great blokes.. Do you think it is growing? It appears to be.
8) How often do you brew during the year on average? 6-8 batches of 23L per year.
9) Is there any type of equipment that you wish it would have been easier to find? Nope.
10) When you have a question about brewing or beer in general, where do you go for answers? Here.
11) Do you experiment making multiple types of beer - using a unique blend of ingredients - or just stick with the out-of-the-box recipes? All my own recipes - it appeals to my creativity. How do you find out about unique recipes? Experimentation. I go to the bottle shop, try a number of brews by the stubby, research those brews, quantify what it is I like about them, what I think could be improved, and then set about making a beer that has the appeal of those brews, without (what I perceive to be) the downside.
12) Do you sometimes brew with other people? Occasionally my brother, when he could be bothered. He drinks german megabeer and is no hophead, otherwise he'd be into it more too.

1) What inspired you to start home-brewing?
A: A taste of Schneider & Son's Aventinus Doppelbock - I wanted to brew beer just like it.

Why do you continue to home-brew?
A: I love the challenge of making new styles, educating my friends, satisfaction of consuming something I designed and crafted from go to whoa. I have to justify the large expensive bar I built :)

A: Looked for advice on this forum and other websites. Found stuff lying about the house, went to the hardware store and built my brewery.

A: No

A: I bought a second-hand starter kit off a friend, realised most of it was junk and went out and bought/built everything else.

A: Satisfying my urge to merge art and science into something that can get me pissed :drinks:

A: 16

A: I live in Brisbane, but from what I know of the Melbourne scene, it is very strong and communal. They are a great bunch of blokes and very organised. My local community is as good as it gets. Very friendly and welcoming. Everyone wants to help everyone else get better at brewing and share their experiences. I have made some very good friends in the Southeast Queensland brewing scene. It is definitely growing - fast.

A: around 20-25 times per year.

A: Ready-made digital temp controllers

A: www.aussiehomebrewer.com

A: I always make unique beers - in 20+ years of brewing, I have never made the same beer twice. I make up my own recipes based on experience and advice on this forum, as well a number of brewing books with proven recipes that I may emulate or modify.

A: Yes but very infrequently.

Good luck with your assignment!

Cheers - Snow.

I started as I had 2 friends doing it and to make cheap beer. I continue because its a lot of fun and well I guess Im kinda addicted (To brewing, not drinking)

First lot I just rocked up at the LHBS, the rest through research and asking questions on the forums.

Nope. Hardr to find it cheap though, takes longer if your looking for bargins.

Yes to starter kit.

*shrugs* I just enjoy the process.

Seems to be growing, but apart from the forums I havnt looked into getting into any sort of community.

It will end up being 6-12 times a year once I even things out.

Some of the cheaper componants from the internet. Temp controllers, refractometers etc.

The forums and the internet in general.

Only just starting to get into AG, but plan to pick 4-5 styles and really work on those.

Yes.

To be honest, a few of my friends were already brewing and I thought it seemed like fun. They did kit brews, which is where I started, but I advanced while most of my friends gave up either due to time issues or realising it didn't interest them as much as they would have thought. I continued because I realised there was so much to learn about beer and brewing, that there was so much out there. I also continued to enjoy the process of making beer and having made something good like this.

I got most of my advice here, on AHB. I also learned how to be creative in my thinking and use what I have access to in order to do what I need to.

No.

I got a starter kit, but I added to it piece by piece.

It's hard to narrow it down to one aspect. I suppose the sharing and socialising is the best part. Going to a case swap is a lot of fun.

My first batch I made when I was 18, and it was terrible. I didn't start again until I was 21, and then I took it seriously.

South Australia- It seems to be reasonably healthy. While I'm a member of a brewing and winemaking club, most brewers seem to shy away from the formalities of clubs and be much more into impromptu get togethers, such as ones organised here and on other forums.

12-15 times, 44-50L batches.

Not that I can think of.

Brew forums, brewing books (such as how to brew, www.howtobrew.com), podcasts (I subscribe to the many shows on The Brewing Network) or magazines (I get BYO).

I tend to get AG recipies from BYO magazine and then customise it to my personal taste. I'm always trying new beer styles, usually a repeat of a recipe is a long time after the first time I made it (for example there's a dark wheat dunkelweissen recipe I loved, and it's been two years- I want to make it this year some time).

Most of the time I do. It makes it a more sociable activity, and almost justifies the amount of pints I down on a brewday ;)

All the great beers I tasted while living in London and travelling through Europe. I continue in hopes to produce stuff as good as that

Initial setup was very basic so a stop at Big W for a pot and fermenter and all was ready. Latest rig was a bit more involved with searching for kegs, stainless fittings, etc, etc. All done over the internet

It was hard to find the kegs and it probably took about 2 months of looking to get some.

First fermenter was from a starter kit, next lot of fermenters from Bunnings and finally the 4 60L fermenters from a homebrew shop

Enjoying the beer that I created and getting praise from mates when they also enjoy it

Initially about 19, but that was only briefly. Started again a few years ago at tender age of 32

No idea about Melbourne, but there seems to be a lot of people on here that are from Melbourne. In my local community I don't think it's changing much. Only know of 2 brewers nearby (1 is gryphon and other is my brother-in-law)

Currently about every 3 or 4 weeks, doing a 40L batch

Kegs or very large s/s pots

Here

I try various styles using recipes from books or on the recipe database on this site.

No, all by my lonesome.

one of my ex girlfriends dads brewed, and i was in awe at the fact he had SO much beer all the time (i was 17) I continue to brew as i enjoy making beers to my taste, rather than mega swill

Ex's dad gave me his old kit, since then, LHBS

No

First kit was his old one, then bought extra fermenters and kegs from LHBS and online

Making great tasting beer and sharing said beer with mates and seeing the shock on their faces when they realise i made it from scratch

17 for 2-3 years, then back into it at 23 (now 25)

No idea about Melbourne, Locally it seems SA has gotten much bigger and better.

About 1 brew every 2-3 weeks,

No, everything is available from LHBS or online that ive needed (so far)

AHB or my LHBS

I stick with mainly one TYPE of beer (APA) but occasionally throw down a different one to change it up. I use AHB and online to gather my recipes,

NOt directly, my bro in law watches and asks questions, But mostly just me (everyone else drinks it though)

GL with your paper mate

Originally it was to save money. But I continue to brew for flavour and enjoyment of the process with the benifit of the cost savings.
Started with a coopers kit, then modified/added 2nd hand bits and pieces. Majority of my current brewery is from recycled products. Pumps and thermostats excluded.
No, I have scraped bits and pieces together over time.
Started with a coopers kit, then added bits here and there.
I love it all, but the stand out thing is when a brew beats all expectations.
First kit and kilo when I was 18. Didn't like the results and gave up for a few years. Started up again when I - well SWMBO - was planning my wedding.
It is growing all over the world. The community is generally keen on developing the skills of brewers and producing a high quality beer.
Around once every month or two.
Affordable conical fermenters
forums/club meetings/brewers.
I am always brewing something different. Love tasting new varieties of grain, hops and yeast. I brew from scratch, so there isn't much to buy out of the box.
Yes, it is a great way to share skills and fun to boot.

....its a lot of fun and well I guess Im kinda addicted (To brewing, not drinking)

hahahaha had a LOL as my 7.7% belgian starts to take effect... not sure which one I am addicted to :lol:

I am a DYI type of guy

Internet for ideas - then built it myself

No, it was in my garage after I built it - or I kept an eye on the classified ads for used commercial equipment

Individually

Crafting something from raw ingredients

Melbourne brewers are strange - which is why I am in NSW ;-)

lately 1-2 times due to time constraints

No

My business partner who is a qualified IGB Master Brewer

Read books to reproduce classic styles

Yes, but I mainly do it in private

Three pages in, can the OP tell me how this will make homebrewing better for proper, All Grain brewers, when by your own admission it's going to be used to market liquid goop ?

**** this for a cheap way for corporations to make an extra buck.

I was a poor uni student whose currency was beer. The cost of everything I did was compared to a case of beer and this was a cheap way to get more beer. I continue because I enjoy the flavours of good craft beer and sharing my beer with friends.

Talk to local homebrew store, find info on this forum, AussieHomeBrewer.com.

No.

Starter kit was a gift. I've bought my all grain equipment individually since then.

Enjoying good beer that I created.

Sydney. Pretty tight. We're a small but growing community and it's nice to get together at homebrew and craft beer events to brew and drink good beer.

About 25 batches a year.

A decent sized hopper for my grain mill. In the end I did what most homebrewers do and fashioned one from bits and pieces. Mine uses a water cooler bottle.

AussieHomeBrewer.com. The Brewing Network, local homebrew store.

I usually experiment with different styles. Most of my recipes come off the top of my head, sometimes consulting books or online resources for ingredients or technique ideas.

Yes. My brew club has brew days where a few guys will get together and brew. I also have friends come and watch/help with my brewing. Often sampling other beers at the same time.

Three pages in, can the OP tell me how this will make homebrewing better for proper, All Grain brewers, when by your own admission it's going to be used to market liquid goop ?

**** this for a cheap way for corporations to make an extra buck.

Pretty short sighted IMO.

Have a read of my responses and you will see I started homebrewing because it was a cheap source of beer. It wasn't long before I discovered craft beer also. From there I have progressed to all grain brewing.

Anything that gets more people brewing tins of goop has to have a flow on effect, no matter how small, into all grain brewing and promoting good craft beer. More demand equals more investment in ingredients and equipment for us.

Fark me... if I was an online purveyor of malt and hop type alcohol producing ingredients, or even a storefront business of the same type, I'd seriously be considering flyer bombing any university campus within cooooooooeeeeeeeeee... Even joining their social forums and doing a bit of viral marketing.

Pretty short sighted IMO.

Yes, IMO.

The reality is that this is a free marketing dredge from someone who knows **** all about homebrewing, has spent no time investigating the hobby before posing the questions, and will probably never brew his own AG beer when he's earning $150k a year. Add to that the claim that it will make homebrewing better (his words, not mine) is bullshit.

The best marketing to an audience is already happening. With almost 18,000 members on AHB, 270 members online at a single time last week, obviously the homebrew marketing magic is by getting a banner up the top of the page.

Marketing magic to current homebrewers, perhaps.

Marketing magic to potential new homebrewers, not so much.

If in the process of filling the OP's and big brewing's pockets, there's one more convert to AG brewing, I'll be happy.